Just installed 4GB of RAM but only 3.25 available? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2010, 06:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Just installed 4GB of RAM but only 3.25 available?

There are chipsets that can only allocate a max of 4 GB no matte what OS you ahve. Had a similar issue with a friend who thought it was great to have a new system - he didn't do his homework and bought a motherboard that would only support 4gb even though he had windows 7 64 bit.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 08:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Just installed 4GB of RAM but only 3.25 available?

So...what's the problem? The chipset can only address 4Gb of ram, but he's only got 4 gigs installed anyway so what's the problem with that?
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 09:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Just installed 4GB of RAM but only 3.25 available?

The 4GB includes the memory on the GFX card, therefore cutting down the available RAM.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 09:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Just installed 4GB of RAM but only 3.25 available?


it's a friday...
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 03-05-2010, 06:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Just installed 4GB of RAM but only 3.25 available?

I was feeling pretty bad after just buying 4GB of RAM and taking out my the 2GB of RAM when I could have just bought a 2GB stick and savedmyself some money but there are loads of people who have bought 8GB of RAM and can only use 3.25GB.
__________________

__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help regarding RAM! Please! (Novice) Mounce System Upgrades 3 04-22-2009 11:39 PM
Added RAM, no performance increase? drewjustforyou System Upgrades 2 03-21-2009 08:06 PM
pagefile on a ram disk? White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-17-2008 03:27 PM
Problem Posting After Ram Upgrade skylinegtrv98 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-28-2008 02:53 PM
4gb of ram david15549 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-25-2007 03:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.