Just in case. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2005, 12:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default Just in case.

I've been giving some thought to getting two 7800gtx for my SLI, but I have a power supply question. My current power is a PC Power and Cooling 510 Turbo. Is that enough power to run two 7800gtx cards? I'm assuming so, considering my comp was configured to have two 6800 ultra's. I thought I would ask you guys for opinions though.

Thanks all.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

I found this using Google....

Power Supply Requirements


Now here's where we are going to surprise you a little bit more. Ever since the 7800 was rumored on the web immediately the discussion started on how much power it would consume with that huge transistor count. The 7800 GTX, my friends actually uses less power then the 6800 Ultra. NVIDIA claims it uses 10 watts less then the previous high-end model. And that's lovely! I mean we have quite similar core frequency, basically the same memory, 80 million more transistors and yet it's using less power draw. It likely has something to do with the smaller fabrication process (0.11 micron), which normally results in a lower core voltage for the graphics processor.

So NVIDIA is recommending nothing too dramatic in terms of a power supply unit. At the least a 350 Watt PSU with 22 amps available on the 12 Volts rail should be sufficient.

If you decide to become an uber gamer with two 7800 GTX cards in a SLI setup then you do need to look at something with a little reserve though. 500 Watts with 30 amps on the 12 volts rail. Have a look at this OCZ Modstream 520W PSU we recently reviewed. We actually use it in our test rigs, highly recommended as it can peak to 620 Watts.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Yes, it will be enough as it is a quality PSU, but this depends on your other hardware. If you have 4 hdd for example, it will not be enough.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 09:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Thanks guys. That's all I needed to know. I'm not running alot of hardware, so it should be fine then.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.