Its That Time Again - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2012, 06:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: Its That Time Again

Quote:
Originally Posted by XI_xtasy_ix View Post
alright. Last question (I hope) is a 6 core overly ambitious? Is it worth getting or should I just get a 4 core? I dont really need 18 Gigs RAM so I am only gonna get 8 for now and upgrade again later if I need to. The MOBO looks good. All I am hung up on is if the CPU is overkill
Well most games dont really benefit much from 6 cores AFAIK, someone more knowledgeable can confirm. But it doesnt hurt to have 6 core, future proofing and editing may benefit from it??(not to sure).

yeah, how were you going to do 18 gig ram with 4x 4gig?? lol. 16 gig ram isnt really needed seeing as though in your other thread you said you were only messing around with editing not doing anything too serious.
__________________

__________________
- EVGA GTX 780 - I5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
- Corsair H100 - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Corsair TX850 - 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
- 120GB Corsair Force 3 - Windows 7 64 bit
- Arctic Silver 5 - Black NZXT Phantom
- Linksys WMP600n - Some random Samsung DVD drive

Sennheiser HD598s, over ear Momentum and Fiio e17
Crossfire 27" 1440p monitor
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 - Cyanogen
HTC One Black 32gb - Android Revolution HD
Samsung Galaxy Tab pro 8.4 - Cyanogen
Mischa is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 06:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Its That Time Again

Except for the most recent games, as Skryim, they don't utilize all 4 cores. I don't think they go above 4 Cores. So yeah, kind of a waste until games are programmed to use more, which may be awhile.

8Gb is plenty.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 06:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 162
Default Re: Its That Time Again

Math has never been my strong suit haha. So final verdict is

CPU: Micro Center - AMD Phenom II X4 960T Black Edition 3GHz Quad Core Socket AM3 Boxed Processor 186932 Unless someone has a better one?

MOBO: Newegg.com - ASUS M5A97 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

RAM: Newegg.com - G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR Unless someone has a better one?

GFX: Possibly the 560 GTX but honestly I dont think I need anything quite so hardcore.
XI_xtasy_ix is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 07:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Its That Time Again

Math in computers is of a different caliber. There are many more variables.

You don't need 1866 speed RAM. 1600 is plenty and cheaper: Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 07:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 162
Default Re: Its That Time Again

honeslty I thought it was 1600. The only reason I chose that over the ones you put up (which I considered too) was because the other was suggested for high performance or gaming.

And I need a HDMI port. I know the 560 has a mini HDMI. Idk the difference really
XI_xtasy_ix is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 07:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: Its That Time Again

Quote:
Originally Posted by XI_xtasy_ix View Post
honeslty I thought it was 1600. The only reason I chose that over the ones you put up (which I considered too) was because the other was suggested for high performance or gaming.

And I need a HDMI port. I know the 560 has a mini HDMI. Idk the difference really
There is no difference in quality, mini hdmi is just a smaller hdmi slot.
__________________
- EVGA GTX 780 - I5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
- Corsair H100 - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Corsair TX850 - 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
- 120GB Corsair Force 3 - Windows 7 64 bit
- Arctic Silver 5 - Black NZXT Phantom
- Linksys WMP600n - Some random Samsung DVD drive

Sennheiser HD598s, over ear Momentum and Fiio e17
Crossfire 27" 1440p monitor
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 - Cyanogen
HTC One Black 32gb - Android Revolution HD
Samsung Galaxy Tab pro 8.4 - Cyanogen
Mischa is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 08:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 162
Default Re: Its That Time Again

so i would have to get a mini hdmi - hdmi cable. okay. I think I got everything answered now. If i need something else you will prolly see me again :P
XI_xtasy_ix is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 09:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Its That Time Again

Quote:
Originally Posted by XI_xtasy_ix View Post
honeslty I thought it was 1600. The only reason I chose that over the ones you put up (which I considered too) was because the other was suggested for high performance or gaming.
That's a marketing scheme. They even have ones that say to work with i5 and i7. In reality, you can use them on any system. The only real world difference is the heatspreader. It's the same stuff underneath.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone Update: Marvel Comics, Easy Time Lapse Video, Real Time Translation And more Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 10-30-2009 06:19 PM
First time builder, long time reader Billymac24 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 03-09-2009 01:53 AM
Hi everyone...1st time poster, long time fan...I have an issue DannyBoston Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 10-18-2008 08:35 PM
Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input. TheOtis New Systems | Building and Buying 27 03-18-2008 04:06 PM
Show the time in the users time zone? Nasimov Programming 1 12-24-2003 11:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.