Its That Time Again - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2012, 12:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 162
Default Its That Time Again

Time for an upgrade and this is going to be a pretty big one. I want to get new RAM, Processor, GFX, and a MOBO.

Right now I have 4 Gigs of RAM, i3 Processor, No Card and a Gigabyte MOBO.

I would like to get 6 core AMD processor, a MOBO that can run it for a a relatively cheap price, a GFX card that can run what I want it too and make it beautiful, and 16 Gigs RAM.

This is what I have found so far:

CPU: Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor HDT90ZFBGRBOX

RAM:two of these. Newegg.com - G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2

MOBO: None

GFX: None

I plan on using this mostly for gaming and movies. Particularly Diablo 3 when it finally comes out... but would also like to use it for other games as well. Whatever happens to tickle my fancy.

Help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
__________________

XI_xtasy_ix is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 12:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Its That Time Again

You don't need 16GB, mate. Unless you are into video development, or compiling data.

If you want a good GFX, you can get a 560Ti.

I'm not too well versed in AMD, so I'll leave that for someone else.

What's your budget?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 12:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 162
Default Re: Its That Time Again

less than 500. and I want to get into montages as well and i can get the 16 for less than 100 so i thought i might as well lol
XI_xtasy_ix is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 02:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: Its That Time Again

560 ti is a good choice, i have one and it can handle battlefield on ultra so will be fine for games you want to play (cod or whatever you want to make montages for.) You can always get a 448 core 560 ti for $30-$40 more which will give better framerate, which will be good if your going to be using fraps or something.

These would work well with the cpu and Ram you picked.

Newegg.com - ASUS M5A97 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS <<usb 3.0 and 6x sata III and crossfire support. Has good reviews on newegg although i know they cant always be trusted.

Newegg.com - EVGA 012-P3-2066-KR GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 448 Cores FTW 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card << $270 with rebate and free batman arkham asylum, plus evga are a good brand.

These two parts and the ram+cpu you picked would come to $645. You said less than 500 but i wasnt sure if you meant less than 500 for just the two components you couldnt decide on, or all four things. I just assumed you meant for the parts you couldnt decide on seeing as though you are willing to spend $100 on RAM. If you need everything for less than 500 just say and i will change the parts i picked although it will be hard to find a decent mobo and GFX with only $220 because of the CPU and RAM you picked.
__________________
- EVGA GTX 780 - I5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
- Corsair H100 - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Corsair TX850 - 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
- 120GB Corsair Force 3 - Windows 7 64 bit
- Arctic Silver 5 - Black NZXT Phantom
- Linksys WMP600n - Some random Samsung DVD drive

Sennheiser HD598s, over ear Momentum and Fiio e17
Crossfire 27" 1440p monitor
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 - Cyanogen
HTC One Black 32gb - Android Revolution HD
Samsung Galaxy Tab pro 8.4 - Cyanogen
Mischa is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 02:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 162
Default Re: Its That Time Again

My mom is buying me the RAM for my birthday. I need the processor, MOBO, and GFX for 500 or less. I dont need anything particularly heavy duty because most of what I play will probably just be diablo 3. Im willing to play other games at less than max settings until i can afford to get a better card.
XI_xtasy_ix is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 02:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: Its That Time Again

In that case just get this GFX and your all set to go.

Newegg.com - MSI N560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II/OC GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card << this is the same card as mine and will bring you down to $490 after mail in rebate. This will handle Battlefield 3 on ultra, i dont know much about diablo 3 though. Also it stays nice and cool and you can overclock to around 1ghz (not all of them can reach 1ghz). Mine was at 1ghz while playing skyrim and it was stable although i dont use 1ghz as i dont really need to.
__________________
- EVGA GTX 780 - I5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
- Corsair H100 - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Corsair TX850 - 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
- 120GB Corsair Force 3 - Windows 7 64 bit
- Arctic Silver 5 - Black NZXT Phantom
- Linksys WMP600n - Some random Samsung DVD drive

Sennheiser HD598s, over ear Momentum and Fiio e17
Crossfire 27" 1440p monitor
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 - Cyanogen
HTC One Black 32gb - Android Revolution HD
Samsung Galaxy Tab pro 8.4 - Cyanogen
Mischa is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 162
Default Re: Its That Time Again

does the AM3+ socket type on the MOBO you suggested work with the AM3 socket type for the CPU?
XI_xtasy_ix is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 04:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Its That Time Again

I think AM3+ is back compatible with AM3. Don't quote me on that.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 04:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: Its That Time Again

yes it is compatible
AM3+ is backward compatible with the AM3, but Bulldozer is for AM3+ only

there are tons more sites saying it works, just search it on google.

I only suggested an am3+ socket over an am3 because if you ever want to upgrade to a new CPU in the future the am3+ may support it. Im not sure what socket AMDs next CPU's will be (called piledriver or steamroller <<something like this, following bulldozer.) but if they are good you may want to upgrade to it and they may be compatible with AM3+ and definitely not with AM3 seeing as though bulldozer is barely compatible with am3
AMD Bulldozer Compatibility with AM3 Motherboards Explained - Softpedia
__________________
- EVGA GTX 780 - I5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
- Corsair H100 - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Corsair TX850 - 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
- 120GB Corsair Force 3 - Windows 7 64 bit
- Arctic Silver 5 - Black NZXT Phantom
- Linksys WMP600n - Some random Samsung DVD drive

Sennheiser HD598s, over ear Momentum and Fiio e17
Crossfire 27" 1440p monitor
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 - Cyanogen
HTC One Black 32gb - Android Revolution HD
Samsung Galaxy Tab pro 8.4 - Cyanogen
Mischa is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 05:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 162
Default Re: Its That Time Again

alright. Last question (I hope) is a 6 core overly ambitious? Is it worth getting or should I just get a 4 core? I dont really need 18 Gigs RAM so I am only gonna get 8 for now and upgrade again later if I need to. The MOBO looks good. All I am hung up on is if the CPU is overkill
__________________

XI_xtasy_ix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone Update: Marvel Comics, Easy Time Lapse Video, Real Time Translation And more Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 10-30-2009 06:19 PM
First time builder, long time reader Billymac24 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 03-09-2009 01:53 AM
Hi everyone...1st time poster, long time fan...I have an issue DannyBoston Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 10-18-2008 08:35 PM
Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input. TheOtis New Systems | Building and Buying 27 03-18-2008 04:06 PM
Show the time in the users time zone? Nasimov Programming 1 12-24-2003 11:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.