internet acces for an antique comp? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2007, 06:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Default internet acces for an antique comp?

Hi folks. I just acquired an "antique" Compaq presario model 2240. It runs windows 95 and has a small harddrive, (2107MB), and but 32 MB of ram. It has an AMD K6 processor ,(200 mh), and a 56k modem.
I am relatively new to computers and have only run XP since I got my first one 4 years ago. I've never had any experience with windows 95.
I have 2 questions. First are there any good resources out there on how to work with windows 95? Secondly, is there any way to connect this computer to a DSL connection to go online without having to go dial-up?
This entire endeavor is really nothing more than a learning experience for me.... ****s and giggles. So far I am encountering error messages and problems I've never had with XP on either of my newer comp. It might be fun learning what makes this thing work.
__________________

walkinman86 is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 04:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default Re: internet acces for an antique comp?

Surely there are rescources to figure out windows 95. try google or wikipedia.

You may be able to use a DSL connection. I have no experiance with DSL, but i think you just need an ethernet port.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 04:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 137
Default Re: internet acces for an antique comp?

Windows 95 can handle a dsl connection. The thing with a computer that old, is that it's likely not going to have any pci ports. It'll probably have ISA ports instead. So you won't be able to find a network card for it at any local retailer. Ebay can help you though. Once you get the card, you'll need to scour the internet for drivers for said card.

I honestly wouldn't waste your time with that computer unless you're planning on using it as an instant messaging side computer. I've got a p2 433mhz HP doing that. And that's pretty much all it can do. I can't even watch youtube videos on it without it maxing out the processor, and having the video/audio all jumpy.
Lorithad is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 05:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: internet acces for an antique comp?

you could use it as data storage place it in the attic and then acess through the network but your going to need a few modern harddrives to do that
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 11:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: internet acces for an antique comp?

According to the HP website, that model SHOULD have PCI slots on it, so getting it online shouldn't be a problem. If you are going to BUY a NIC card for this PC, it would be a good idea to look and make sure there is an un-used PCI slot.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wierd domain and internet problem roumieh2000 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 04-17-2007 01:47 AM
Wireless Internet starts great, then slows to a halt NathanLedet Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 04-13-2007 03:56 PM
Full Internet Channel Now Available for Wii Osiris Nintendo 0 04-12-2007 08:44 AM
Slow internet... lilchica805 Internet Software and Browsers 1 04-10-2007 10:02 AM
Shared internet connection/networking question gospel Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-05-2007 10:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.