Internal Hardrive + Enclosure? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default Internal Hardrive + Enclosure?

I have a Maxtor 200GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM internal harddrive - it's a Ultra ATA/133 interface...

I need to use this for a laptop backup hard drive, so I was wondering what are some GOOD external enclosures that I can get?

I'm not sure if the enclosures below are compatible, thats why I need your help.

I have looked at a few enclosures:

1)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817145163

2)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...Tab=0&NoMapp=0

3)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817146184

Also, if you have any that YOU recommend, please feel free to mention them. Thanks a lot.
__________________

M4A1 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Shugonworrier Send a message via Yahoo to Shugonworrier
Default

WHat is your price range???
__________________

Shugonworrier is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177
Default

correct me if im wrong, but after checking out various enclosures myself, contruction look pretty simple, so i dont really think it matters what brand you go for. So far, the only difference i can tell so far is just the way they look. I would say pick a middle ranged one that you like. For me, i went for a Vantec enclosure.
doodle dee is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shugonworrier
WHat is your price range???
Nothing to expensive, anything from $20-$35

The main problem I'm having right now is finding out which ENCLOSURE will work with my internal hard drive?

Don't they differ from different interfaces (IDE, ATA) etc..?
M4A1 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177
Default

all the ones you picked are the correct interface however, the first products connects to your system via an external sata connection. The second connects via usb so thats good, and the third connects via usb or firewire. Any IDE external enclosure should work for you.
doodle dee is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default

So technically, I can use ANY interface with my hard drive? If not, which can I use for this particular hard drive?
M4A1 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 06:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177
Default

as long as it say IDE you can use it. Make sure you have the correct external connection. Like with the first link, if you do not have a SATA external connection, then you wont be able to hook it up to your system or laptop.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817145127

under specs. make sure it says Internal Interface: IDE.
for extermal Interface, make sure it has the connection you have such as USB 2.0.
__________________

doodle dee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.