Internal Harddrives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2007, 06:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default Internal Harddrives

I know there is a way to use an internal hard drive as an external hard drive so I can plug it in to a USB drive, but the name of the accessory that lets me do this is escaping me, does anyone know what its called?
__________________

SoulnStyle is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 06:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: Internal Harddrives

No there would not be a power supply to it, or connections. It's impossible.
__________________

__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 07:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Internal Harddrives

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raze664 View Post
No there would not be a power supply to it, or connections. It's impossible.
Noobs should check their sources before posting. The thing you are looking is called a "hard drive enclosure." There are two "major" sizes: 2.5" and 3.5". They accept either/both SATA and IDE. The connection to the computer can be USB or Firewire. The power supply would be a cheap external transformer. To start: look here. This means that you can buy a cheap hard drive and a enclosure to make an external hard drive. Doing so usually saves ALOT of money.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 07:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Internal Harddrives

Hello,

Yep. That's what I've done. Great for transferring and backing large quantities of data.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 03:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Internal Harddrives

with the 2.5" external enclosures some draw there power through the USB and don't need a transformer brick
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internal network and virus and_woox Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 06-17-2007 10:18 PM
1 tb internal hdd JRatcliffe Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 06-07-2007 02:11 PM
New Hardware. Corrupt Harddrives? Biggie578 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-28-2007 02:36 PM
URGENT HELP NEEDED...Norton Live update internal Error!!!! sudheep Viruses, Spyware and Malware 16 04-05-2007 01:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.