Intel P4 or Core 2 duo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2007, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Intel P4 or Core 2 duo?

What is better for gaming. A pentium 4 or Core 2 duo?
__________________

Jolly_Elf is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Intel P4 or Core 2 duo?

No question : core 2 duo is pretty much better at everything...
__________________

__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Intel P4 or Core 2 duo?

Pentium 4 is pretty much considered an obsolete brand...

Core 2 Duo is better than Intel P4 at everything.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 04:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Intel P4 or Core 2 duo?

Ok thankyou. I read sumwhere that the pentium 4 is better if i want the weight(its for a laptop) but i didnt see how.
Jolly_Elf is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 05:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: Intel P4 or Core 2 duo?

No, core 2 duo is way better.
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 07:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Intel P4 or Core 2 duo?

Ya, they are almost not even worth compairing... no competiton
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 08:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: Intel P4 or Core 2 duo?

Currently, the Core 2 Duo is the one to have, because it can handle multiple demanding applications at once,

and like everyone else said, P4 is old...
GSM CEO is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 09:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Intel P4 or Core 2 duo?

core 2 duo all the way, the only way a P4 is useful is the Prescotts that can keep you warm in the winter lol!!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 04:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Intel P4 or Core 2 duo?

if this is a laptop you cant get core 2 duo you can only get core duo is that what your talking about???

Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 08:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Intel P4 or Core 2 duo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
if this is a laptop you cant get core 2 duo you can only get core duo is that what your talking about???
No, in laptop there is both core 2 duo and core duo
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.