Intel P4 506 or sempron 2800+? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2006, 09:10 PM   #21 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

k thanx ryan. i am planning on getting an other 512 mb stick down the road anyway.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 09:22 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

it surely wouldn't hurt. BF2 is a hungry program.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:12 AM   #23 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

lol. I went into fry's today wanting to check out the deal, but when i go there they said it was a one day sale and it won't happen until like an other month. They usually have those deals every week with a cpu and mobo combo but they aren't going to have this one again for liek amonth they told me. I am kind of glad because i didn't want to turn my back, so to speak, on AMD. Regardless of this being temporary. I am going to buy a new motherboard for my sokcet A sempron 2800. My mobo now is crappy it has a km266 chipset and only agp4x slot and it has weak overlcoking features. I am lookin into this msi one:
http://www.mwave.com/mwave/viewspec....iteria=BA20622

it has an nforce2 chipset and agp 8x and it can probaly overlcok better since it is an msi. Anything is better than pc chips. I mainly want to get my 6600 out of that agp4x slot because it is holding it back. So for the same amount as the p4 and ecs mobo I can get the msi mobo and an other 512mb ram to make it 1 gig. On newegg ven the semprons got better reviews than the p4 506. I just rather go with the better mobo and more ram. Since the order for playing games goes liek this:gfx card, ram, cpu. I'd rather have a good videocard in it's agp 8x slot and 1 gig of ram instead of a better cpu. What do you guys think?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:13 AM   #24 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

I am probaly going to get an other stick of this since i already have one that way they are the same exact model for when they run in dual channel.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820236106

sound good?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 03:24 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

sounds real good...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:18 PM   #26 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
sounds real good...

Ryan

lol are you just being sarcastic or do you really mean that that sounds good? I need some suggestions because I am not buying the p4.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 08:52 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

usually the "..." implies sarcasm lol.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:04 PM   #28 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

ya but he didnt put those quotation marks. Can you guys stop beating around the bush and tell me if ti sounds good or doesn't lol? I want to make the right upgrade here.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:07 PM   #29 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

lol i guess since i am going to be getting some money now minus well investr into s939 now instead of the summer. I will be getting around $100 dollars so i will probaly save up like 70 dollars more and get an amd athlon 64 3200 venice. I guess you guys aren't liking the idea to go wiht 1 gig of ram and a good socket A mobo lol.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:27 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

nah just use what you have for now. the sempron 2800+ is a solid performer and should last you long. The agp4x ISNT holding back the video card because chances are the video card isn't even taking full advantage of the memory bandwidth available to it. So you'll be fine don't worry about it.
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.