Intel P4 506 or sempron 2800+? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2006, 10:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Intel P4 506 or sempron 2800+?

I just saw this amazing deal in my newpaper they are giving me socket 775 ECS motherboard and a p4 506 for only $109.95. I wanted to get a sempron 2800+ and a msi mobo but that would come out to like $125. I am and AMD guy but this deal sounds good. I have a sempron 2800+ now for socket A and i want to upgrade to a better mobo and cpu that will at least last me to the summer when i get my job. What should i do? And yes i am a gamer. I play games like hl2 and cs:s and others. What deal would you go for?
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

The Pentium 4 is probably going to be your better deal. It's as far as speed goes though. I dunno... Being an AMD fanboy, I'd still be tempted to go with the Sempron and overclock it with a good motherboard.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 02:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Sempron is to AMD what Celeron is to Intel.

Go with the Pentium.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 03:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

I know that sempron is equal to celeron and p4 is equal to athlon. I was hoping that if i get the p4 i could overlcock it 200mhz to a 2.8. I feel weird about ti though tunring to the devil side with a p4 lol. In the summer i am going to get a job and get a dfi lanparty s939, and an opteron and a pciE videocard. But right now i want something more powerful than what i have now to last me until the summer wen i get my s939 rig. So do you guys think i should still go with the p4 since it is cheaper and better performance and it is only to last me until around summer. What would you do?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Just save your money and stick with your Sempron for now,No sense buying now when you are just going to be upgrading later
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 03:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Now that I think about it... Whichever you can do for the absolute cheapest. It's only temporary. And you don't want to get something that's going to tempt you to upgrade a semi-okay computer. You want a whole new rig later down the road.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 04:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

yeah exactly ryan its only temproary. I think i am going wiht the p4. It will give me way better performance than my sA sempron, plus my videocrad is only runnig ina a 4x slot and it is an 8x card so it should increase performance in my videocard too. Any other opinons?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 04:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

btw..........the p4 506 is 2.66 ghz but i am planning on overclocking it to least to 2.8ghz maybe even 3.0ghz, because i go tmy arctic silver ready.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 04:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

As much as I hate to say it. Go with the Pentium4. You can probably get it close to 3GHz.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 04:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
btw..........the p4 506 is 2.66 ghz but i am planning on overclocking it to least to 2.8ghz maybe even 3.0ghz, because i go tmy arctic silver ready.
No problems here .

See Sig.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.