intel mother board is.............. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2005, 10:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default intel mother board is..............

Main Circuit Board
Board: Intel Corp
Serial Number: TGSR40619872
Bus Clock: 100 Megahertz
BIOS: Intel Corp.
Where can I find out what this thing accepts in the video card department?

burnt_bulb is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388

Well theres nothing thats pulling up on it really. It only has an onboard video controller though, so my guess is you have no chance of using an AGP video card.

If you're intent on keeping that board, you'll have to use a PCI video card, which is basically useless honestly.

Who'd you buy the computer from? Do they offer upgrades? They kind of make it so you don't do these sort of things.

Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 11:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18

Well, its and emachines, I know I know I know. I'm not gaming I'm just trying to gain some on a Mapping program I use for work. I did some research last night and found a tutorial on PCI's but I'm unsure of what the receptacle of the PCI looks like. Mine has three white slots, no brown one, for the card,modem and what-ever else goes back there. Does that sound like a PCI? Where is a good place to research the numbers from my board?
burnt_bulb is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10

If you have a small brown slot above the white ones, that is a agp slot. If all you are going to use this for is that one program and not gaming, just get a gforce 5500 or a 6200. The white slots are your pci slots by the way.
jrw27288 is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18

Thanks for the information guys. I ordered a card and another ram for the junker I run. The card is Radeon 9250 128mb..... the ram a 512 so hopefully it will make what I do somewhat easier. Thanks once again
burnt_bulb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.