Intel Equivalent of Dual Core 3800+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2007, 07:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Intel Equivalent of Dual Core 3800+

What would be a similar or slightly faster processor then the AM2 3800X2... for the same or less price or does one not exist for a cheeper/same price.

If you send links im british so no new egg.


Thanks
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

AS for the Pentiums, a 3800 is equal to, or better than, a 3.8MHz. As for the C2D, there's not really a comparison because the C2D's blow it out of the water.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 09:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

TThe 3800X2 is equivalent to the Pentrium D 820. The AMD chip is supposed to be slightly faster and (as most AMD procs are) a little less expensive.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 10:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the x2 3800 is more closely matched to a Pentium D 840 than an 820 and even then it still won out over it in the Dual Core Duel......back in the day
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 01:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

So bottom line is go with the AM2 3800 over the P4 D.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 03:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 85
Default

The difference isn't that much. Marginal is the word I would use. If your looking for a cheap fast computer go a bit and get the e6300 from newegg and get into the C2D phase. Pentium D and the 3800 won't stay on too much longer. Soon enough you will find yourself needing to upgrade yet again to stay with the pack. Might as well spend the money on a C2D and a good board, OC it if you wish and b able to not have to UG until it becomes necessary. You can find yourself spending the same amount of money in a year or less if you go ahead with the 3800 or the Pentium D.
AT2005 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 04:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i wouldn't go as far as to say anything like that. my spare rig is an Athlon XP 2500+ that i built just last year (long after i had my X2 3800). that runs great and there is no two ways about it. people think they need to upgrade.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 07:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Yeh i no my 2500 is strong as anything i rarely suffer from any performance issues just on the desktop on photoshop anything like that its only when i get to games.

Ok i have enough money for a AM2 X2 4200 now ... then again the Core 2 Duo 6300 is only 6 pounds more. Will i get alot more performance for 6 pounds more. Im english dont post a new egg link please.

Thanks
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yes, it's really worth it. And you'll really get your money's worth when you overclock it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Ok wow... I just saw something thats really cool. The E6300 Was Overclocked from 1.8ghz to 2.5ghz .... Then they showed the becnhmarks against Counterparts. In all but 1 tests (10 tests) It was faster than an FX-62... And total thrashed an X2 5000+. But to overclock that much can i leave it cooling with the default supplied fan in the retail kit. Or will i need some mega cooling.

Just incase this makes alot of differnce on running temps. Also in the case will be an X1950Pro, 1GB/1.5GB Pc 5300 Ram. All on a 350 watt stock PSU. But dont worry about the psu my dads so confident it will be fine that if it blows up or the pc wont start up he wil replace it all. LOL



Thanks
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.