Intel Dual-Core and Core 2 Duo Difference? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2007, 01:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 52
Question Intel Dual-Core and Core 2 Duo Difference?

I was looking at the popular e2180 bubget cpu for a build. Noticed it is one the the few "Dual-Core" newegg has. What is the difference in the "Dual-Core" cpu like this and the "Core 2 Duo" cpu's.
__________________

rjm0827 is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 01:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Intel Dual-Core and Core 2 Duo Difference?

Core 2 duo's are a little more high end. They have higher fsb than the dual cores, and for the most part they over clock higher as well. Don't get the wrong idea about the e2180 though, it can still perform especially if you OC it, and it can OC very well.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 02:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Intel Dual-Core and Core 2 Duo Difference?

I thought the e2180 used the Core 2 architecture?
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 02:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Intel Dual-Core and Core 2 Duo Difference?

Yes, E2180 use the the Core 2 architecture
maroon1 is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Intel Dual-Core and Core 2 Duo Difference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Yes, E2180 use the the Core 2 architecture
that would explain why it OC's so well...lol
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 05:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Intel Dual-Core and Core 2 Duo Difference?

The e2180 is also m0 stepping. It has less cache than the "core2" chips but is essentially the same thing just with a lower stock speed. its 2ghz with a 200FSB and 10x multiplier.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 08:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Intel Dual-Core and Core 2 Duo Difference?

i thought these chips where pentium d based.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 09:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Intel Dual-Core and Core 2 Duo Difference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
i thought these chips where pentium d based.
Seems that they aren't. That's good... cause I think a 3+ GHz E2180 sounds awesome.
__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 10:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Intel Dual-Core and Core 2 Duo Difference?

They're def core 2 architecture. You can get one to 2.9-3.0 on stock vcore.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 11:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Intel Dual-Core and Core 2 Duo Difference?

crippled Core 2 Duos with disabled cache or defective cache, instead of throwing away a chip they just down clock it and disable some of the cache and still make $100's on the chip
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what kinda CPU for this kinda pc? taekwondo New Systems | Building and Buying 45 12-08-2007 01:04 PM
Do Intel CPU's have dual core optimizer software? Shafra Microsoft Windows and Software 2 10-23-2007 08:27 PM
Difference between core 2 duo and quadcore tommore System Upgrades 5 10-05-2007 04:17 PM
Intel core duo T2050 17Inc.Widescreen Laptop lovecompu New Technology and Products 0 09-24-2007 10:06 AM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.