Intel to AMD. Making the switch? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2006, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Intel to AMD. Making the switch?

Heya'.

My motherboard's crapping out on me. USB ports don't work right sometimes, LAN is screwed up... Took a look-see at my mobo and she's nothing but leaky caps.

Should I stick with my processor (Intel Celeron 1.8GHz), orrr am I better of getting something along the lines of a Sempron (I'm not a power freak, I don't need anything overkill)?

Would something like a Sempron 2800 64bit give me atleast a little performance gain?
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

It will give you more than a 'little' gain
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I'd say that would be a decent power gain. You could build a pretty nice system for cheap.

AMD Sempron 64 3000+ 800MHz FSB Socket 754 Processor - Retail $86.00

Gigabyte GA-K8NS ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $57.00
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 04:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

Yeah, you'd be much better off going with something like a 64 bit Sempron. If you have a budget we could help you with some suggestions.
Shannon is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 04:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Intel to AMD. Making the switch?

Going with a Sempron will be a big boost for you,I'm like you and didn't need much power so when my comp screwed up i switched from my Celeron 2.4Ghz to a Sempron 2600+,I was totally amazed at the difference :amazed: Everything ran way better and took alot less longer to do thing's,It used to take around 7 hour's for me to convert a 700mb avi file to dvd,with my sempron it cut that time to about 3 hour's
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 01:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you stick with that PC2100 RAM, you might have to use a memory divider to actually run the Sempron at its normal speed
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 01:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
Gigabyte GA-K8NS ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $57.00
That my friend, is a bad idea. That was my last motherboard until it gave me the finger. first the USB ports, than everything else just stopped working. When i booted up my computer, nothing but the fans would run. i reset the CMOS and that didn't do anything. If you want a reliable socket 754 motherboard, don't get a gigabyte one, their peices of $&!*.

it might be about $130, but my DFI LanParty is the best $130 i've ever spent on computer hardware. Its super reliable.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 08:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

You didnt like it? I have the nForce3 Ultra equivalent, and I really like it. That's why I recommended it in the first place.

I guess if you have had problems with it, then I would stay away from it as well. Perhaps the skt754 versions werent as good

If you're thinking DFI, perhaps a regular Infinity board, as there doesnt seem to be much for overclocking happening.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 02:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Actually, what I was looking at specifically was a ECS 755-2A. And the Sempron 2800 64bit is 1.6GHz...


What's a memory divider? I'll probably have to use the ram I have. Hard to come by money these days, gotta' be careful not to waste any. Let's just say computers aren't my top priority lately...
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

WorldIndustries, your name suggests you have enough money to buy a whole new PC. I would uprgrade to an Athlon 64 and a mobo to go with it. You will probably need some ram, 2GB will give you the most noticeable difference.
__________________

Shocker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.