Intel or AMD? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2006, 06:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

e6400: 219.00
x2 4200+: 182.00
performance wise: probably so similar you can't even tell them apart.

they're both great.
my system smokes whatever task i put it to.

if your mind is set on amd, get the 4200+ (or 3800) am2. and when (and if) the conroe crusher comes out, you will have the right socket for it.

general, that big chingaso overclock is awesome. i think you lucked out with your cpu. but i don't neccesarily believe all the 6600's can do that, the same as i am sure there are 3800+'s that can bag a 900mhz oc.

it's all in the dice.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
e6400: 219.00
x2 4200+: 182.00
performance wise: probably so similar you can't even tell them apart.

they're both great.
my system smokes whatever task i put it to.

if your mind is set on amd, get the 4200+ (or 3800) am2. and when (and if) the conroe crusher comes out, you will have the right socket for it.

general, that big chingaso overclock is awesome. i think you lucked out with your cpu. but i don't neccesarily believe all the 6600's can do that, the same as i am sure there are 3800+'s that can bag a 900mhz oc.

it's all in the dice.
E6400 > X2 4200+ read benchmarks and find that out. The "conroe crusher" will be socket AM3.

95% of conroes will overclock the same as mine, but you need good ram too.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Well its been said. But Ill say it Again.
Currently == Intel
Before C2D's Release == AMD


The only reason I didn't go C2D is because I didn't want to get a new motherboard, new RAM and Reinstall.
So I just got a 4600+ and OCed to 2.70 Ghz
Ste is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 08:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

True! i think this is the bottom line,

-Before, AMD owned Intel before the release of Core 2 Duo's. They were the number 1 gaming processors and everyone knew it, people would say that AMD was better than intel in gaming, and Intel is better than AMD for application stuff and folding.

-Now, Let's just man up and face it lol, I'm a big AMD fan too, but the intel Core 2 Duo's are really good, and they are the best processors out right now, and for the price to value category they truely beat AMD. Overall the Core 2 Duo, and any one of them, the e6300 or the x6800 extreme, will beat any other processor. Even a core 2 duo e6300 can beat an athlon 64 fx -62. Also the fact that they are o/cing beats just adds to it.

-For the future, it doesn't look good for AMD becuase they aren't going to release there new stuff until AM3, and by that time who knows what intel will have cooking up.

So basically, AMD was the powerhouse, but Intel is coming up and they don't wanna get off the number 1 spot.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 08:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

Intel's top chip is great right now, but I still don't think there's any benefit to going intel over AMD if you're not getting the Core 2 Duo. The Athlon X2s are still outperforming the P4 and the Pentium D for less money for the most part.

I do think that AMD will be back on top performance-wise when the quad-core stuff comes though. I read that the Intel "quad core" chip is not really quad core, but two dual cores on one piece of silicon whereas the AMD quad core chip is really quad core. Only the benchmarks will tell, though.

But if you already have a 939 board, just get a 939 processor, you *should* still be able to find a good deal on one. I have been noticing some CPUs vanishing from NewEgg recently, though. I think they're selling out or something. try http://www.tigerdirect.com and http://www.zipzoomfly.com too.
Shannon is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 09:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

since your building a new pc NOW, go with core 2 dou. If you decided to wait until amd quad core comes out....then i would prob go with that. But since you want to build NOW, get the core 2 dou. Its the best processor out right now...besides the QX6700 but im sure you don't want to spend $1500 on a cpu.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 12:35 AM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shannon
I read that the Intel "quad core" chip is not really quad core, but two dual cores on one piece of silicon whereas the AMD quad core chip is really quad core. Only the benchmarks will tell, though.
I'm still a bit unclear as to how the QX6700 isn't a quad-core, if it has four cores and uses one socket. I guess you could argue that a dual-core isn't really a dual-core and it's just two single cores in one socket, how they are attached doesn't matter to what it's called, just the performance between cores, which in the end still makes no bit of noticable difference. The QX6700 is a quad-core, call it what you want, but it is still a quad-core.
The General is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 01:36 AM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
E6400 > X2 4200+ read benchmarks and find that out. The "conroe crusher" will be socket AM3.
yo general check this out.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Socket_AM2

you will be able to use an am3 processor on an am2 mobo, but not vice versa....so technically speaking he would have the right mobo. just make sure it's a good one. there's no way i would buy a new am3 without upgrading mine....not that it's horrid, but definitely a beginner board and i picked up on this a lot quicker than i thought i would...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 05:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Ephexx793
Default

Wow, General you are one **** of a fighter.

Thanks a lot for all this guys, and partially dissapointed to say, you sold me to Intel.. And yes, I believe my CPU was out-of-stock for about a week on Newegg, and I guess that is why they removed it.

So, It's time to find a new Board and a new Processor.
The most I am willing to spend on this computer is $1500.
Here are the parts I have so far, and when I get my intel processor I want to be able to OC it a bit, so please tell me how many fans, etc. I will need..

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion...Computer+Parts

I am currently looking for a motherboard, and an Intel Processor Core 2 Duo.
If anyone wants to hook me up with a good "bang for your buck" motherboard, I'd be very happy.

Thanks guys, a very big help.
Ephexx793 is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 09:49 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Ephexx793
Default

bump
__________________

Ephexx793 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.