Intel 82810e - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2006, 08:17 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
You have to have a pci x slot to use a pci X card
that is true but you need a pci-e slot to use pci-express. pci-x is something completely different and is found only on server boards. yeah if the slots are black they would be ISA. there are a few reasonable options in the way of PCI cards but it depends on what you are willing to spend
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:21 AM   #12 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

i think its time you got a major upgrade, it souds like you're using a P3 lol and you were going to get a new graphics card anyway so you may as well
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:23 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Even a PII system should have an AGP slot though so make doubley sure you don't before you buy a PCI card.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:27 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
that is true but you need a pci-e slot to use pci-express. pci-x is something completely different and is found only on server boards. yeah if the slots are black they would be ISA. there are a few reasonable options in the way of PCI cards but it depends on what you are willing to spend
sorry my bad I am sure him and everyone else knew what I meant!

And its not uncommon for that generation of computer's to not have an AGP slot. A little older most had them but when that IGP came out board makers didn't include agp slots on alot of them
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:30 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10
Default

its not even pentium mate, its cyrix or something, and i can't afford a major upgrade how do i disable onboard graphics in CMOS, is that in setup when you press DEL on startup, if so still how do i do it?

Im looking at a PCI GeForce FX5200, any good?
theres not aot in the way of choice everything is PCI-e
im looking on ebay UK can anyone help me, price upto £60
Shane1 is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shane1
its not even pentium mate, its cyrix or something, and i can't afford a major upgrade
Ouch, i dont think that cpu will really handle a gfx card like the fx5200, I could be wrong there but lets just say my pda has more processing power..

Quote:
Originally posted by Shane1
how do i disable onboard graphics in CMOS, is that in setup when you press DEL on startup, if so still how do i do it?
Yes, enter CMOS and look around until you find the setting for onboard graphics then simply switch it to disable, save and exit.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:40 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrCoffee
Ouch, i dont think that cpu will really handle a gfx card like the fx5200, I could be wrong there but lets just say my pda has more processing power..



Yes, enter CMOS and look around until you find the setting for onboard graphics then simply switch it to disable, save and exit.
of course after you install another video card!
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:44 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Hmm, i found these requirements for the fx5200 pci:

# Product Requirements
# Microsoft Windows 95 OSR2/98/NT 4.0/2000/ME/XP
# Intel Pentium III, AMD Duron or Athlon processor or better
# 128 MB RAM
# 10 MB free hard disk space (50 MB for full installation)
# Available PCI slot
# CD-ROM drive


Not sure how it would run on your system (if at all), do you have pci 2.1?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:49 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10
Default

dunno do i have PCI 2.1, how can i tell????????

btw its cyrix III.....dunno if thts the equivilant to pentium or not?

can someone recommend a card for cyrix 3, and 235W?
Shane1 is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:52 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

You said 800mhz? Don't worry that would run the card fine.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.