Installing Window98 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2005, 11:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Lightbulb Installing Window98


I have installed win98 in c: drive and then winxp in d:drive.
I have install first win 98 and then win xp.

c: win98
d: winxp

C: is my primary partition
and also Linux is installed on my system.

Now I want to format my C; drive and reinstall win98 on that.

Can I do this. ? i.e. xp is already installed on my machine on secondry partition

How can I proceed further.

pls. provide the needful information

chetannanda is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 02:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191

okay using terms that arent OS specific would help ... "c" and "d" mean nothing in linux. describing your partition table better than "c" and "d" will help... but in the end, i think you'll just want to go without win98 ... seeing has how it's been "deprecated" since 2003. but if you installed linux on your computer last... you'll have boot loader problems if you install windows over it. the ms bootloader sucks. i think it would be easier to do this:

1. format all of your harddrives so all you have is blank space.

2. install windows 98 on one harddrive/partition

3. install windows XP (it will install a lame *** boot loader that is trash if you ever use grub)

4. install linux (will install grub if you picked a distro that doesnt suck (I.E. )

what do you need windows 98 for anyway?

The General is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 03:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2

Yes I have installl win98 first, then XP and then in the last I have installed linux.
Currently on booting up the system first grub boot loadder appears and selecting dos over there boot option for 98 and XP comes.

Is there any way that allows me to format my primary partition (having win98) and reinstall win98 on that

I need win98 as, lots of s/w iam using like sify broad band client on xp sucks a lot of ram
chetannanda is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

iam using like sify broad band client on xp sucks a lot of ram
? Me confused...

To answer your question, yes, you could, but your bootloader would be shot, preventing access to Linux. And it's not worth it trying to get it back.

Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 01:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

The easiest way is to start all over again, unfortunately. reformat your entire system and install everything in the correct order (98se, xp, linux).
macdude I swear to god I hate dr. phil
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.