Installing a second SATA drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2010, 10:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Iron Feet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aurora,IL
Posts: 172
Default Installing a second SATA drive

Currently running a single 500GB SATA hard drive and want to add a second maybe 1TB internal hard drive and wanted to ask a few questions before I do this. The second drive is only going to be used for storage - games, music, movies, etc.

1. Will the new hard drive need to be partitioned for any reason? I'm thinking not?

2. Will it need to be formatted before it's able to be used?

3. Will windows (i'm using XP) need to be installed on the second hard drive?

Thanks for any input. I've always just run single hard drives, so this will be my first time adding a second one.
__________________

Iron Feet is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 11:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Installing a second SATA drive

Only if you want too, no real need though.

Yes, drives come unformated, it takes 10minutes through disk managemdent.

Nope, just toss it in.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 11:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Installing a second SATA drive

Remember just to do a quick format, you don't need to do a full one since the drive comes blank.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 11:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Installing a second SATA drive

Wouldn't it be better to do a full format, to check for bad sectors?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 11:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Installing a second SATA drive

It'll take 4-5hrs! A chkdisk after would be better time use.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 12:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Installing a second SATA drive

Won't a simple GParted be faster?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 12:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Installing a second SATA drive

P[robably more work than needed for a secondary drive.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 02:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Iron Feet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aurora,IL
Posts: 172
Default Re: Installing a second SATA drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Wouldn't it be better to do a full format, to check for bad sectors?
Is that common problem on a new hard drive?
Iron Feet is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 02:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Installing a second SATA drive

It's not a common problem, but, even a "full format" in windows, rarely marks bad sectors, I find other software to do a far better job of that, though it takes like, all day to do so.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 09:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Iron Feet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aurora,IL
Posts: 172
Default Re: Installing a second SATA drive

Thanks everyone for the info!
__________________

Iron Feet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing an IDE Drive w/ a SATA D.Ace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-06-2009 02:07 PM
Installing Windows XP to a SATA drive without a floppy drive waynejkruse10 Microsoft Windows and Software 9 02-24-2006 06:37 AM
Installing another SATA drive hewhohasissues Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 01-17-2006 12:16 PM
Installing a new SATA drive belveder System Upgrades 8 09-16-2005 05:04 AM
installing xp + sata drive Simon Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 02-25-2005 10:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.