Installing a second hard drive. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2007, 02:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default Installing a second hard drive.

Period. I looked around the forum and couldn't find much, then again I suck at searching for information.

Can someone direct me to a link that shows, in full detail, how to install a secondary drive? I know there's a few methods of doing so, so I'd like to know, pretty much, all the options to see which fits my preference. If you can't, instructions would be nice.

I know this question has been presented numerous times but I didn't find those articles helpful.
__________________

__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Camshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Default Re: Installing a second hard drive.

you turn off the pc and unplug it then place the drive in a open bay
if the drive has a jumper set it on slave
connect the drive to the board(SATA or IDE depending on what drive you have)
connect power to the drive
boot up
if it doesnt want to boot into windows check in your bios under boot priority
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4200
ASUS M2N - e
1gb A data DDR2 667
6600GT
CPU-Z Validator
Camshaft is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Installing a second hard drive.

Pretty easy. Just three steps.

1. Set Jumpers- Your old HD may need to be set to Master with Slave or such, then set the new HD jumper to slave.
2. Put it in the case.
3. Hook up the 2 cables. Power and Connection. Connection can be either IDE (long and gray) or Sata (small, usually red from what I've seen).
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 06:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default Re: Installing a second hard drive.

I heard you could set it up in a way that it acts as one huge hard drive for a more efficient way to access information but the downside is that if I reformat, if I have to, I'd lose all information on both hard drives.

I'm salvaging the second hard drive from my friend's computer, is there a way for me to completely erase the second hard drive before the drives take into affect?

And that brings up the question, when, the next time, I want to return my computer back to factory settings, how will the second hard drive be treated? Would the reformatting just erase the information on the second drive or would it be completely ignored?
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 06:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Installing a second hard drive.

You can RAID them so they act 1 HD. But the HDs need to be identical for that to work.

Many different kinds of raids, too.

When you reformat, you choose the HD you want to format and install on.

Next time you reformat, just move all your important stuff to one HD, then instlal on the other. Reformat without data loss.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 09:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default Re: Installing a second hard drive.

Oh, that's convenient. So how can I install the second drive without the data from it, that's already there, affecting my computer? My friend gave away his computer, a pretty good one, because it had a lot of viruses. I don't want to go through the trouble of cleaning his drive up so how can I just erase the drive prior to my computer accessing it?

I think I came across a bootup software that does wipe the drive, but I'm kind of cautious that I might accidentally wipe the primary drive that has the OS/ etc partition.
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 12:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Installing a second hard drive.

I wouldn't worry about it. Just boot it and format quickly. If its not booting off that hd the virsus shouldn't do anything.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 08:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default Re: Installing a second hard drive.

Awesome, thank you. 400gb's now.
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 10:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default Re: Installing a second hard drive.

Question, I installed the secondary drive. But now I have a question about the partitions. What can I do to get rid of the recovery partition? And I had this menu where it asked something, forgot what, it had the choices of 512, 1024, 4096; something like that. There was also called Default. So I chose that, that was fine, right?
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 01:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Installing a second hard drive.

Maybe your swap partition?

There are huge debates about the size it needs to be. Some say over 512mb is overkill, some say twice your ram...some say three times...who knows what's right. Very intelligent people disagree.
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Hard drive occasionally clicking Mr. tech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 04-30-2007 08:40 AM
Help a newb: simple issue with hard drive copying? AppleBag Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.