Installing A New Processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2006, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default Installing A New Processor

This is going to be my first time installing a new motherboard and new processor, can anyone tell me how to install an AMD Athlon 3800+ Socket AM2 processor on to a Gigabyte GA-M55plus-S3G motherboard?
__________________

relentless is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 03:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Put the processor on the socket..? If it's a ZIF, you pull the level up, place the processor in, and pull the lever down..?
__________________

__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Is that all I have to do? I heard that you might need thermal paste and have to do alot of other complicated stuff.
relentless is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 03:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Oh, well to put the processor in the motherboard, I believe thats what you do.. but yeah, you'll need to do that to put on a heatsink.. ;\
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 03:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by relentless
Is that all I have to do? I heard that you might need thermal paste and have to do alot of other complicated stuff.
The retail CPU comes with a heatsink/fan which already has thermal grease applied to it.
turtile is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 04:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
The retail CPU comes with a heatsink/fan which already has thermal grease applied to it.
Does it also come with instructions?
relentless is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

It should....
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

http://www.nforcershq.com/article92.html should help
__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LU4sTrooper
http://www.nforcershq.com/article92.html should help
Thanks
__________________

relentless is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.