installing a new power supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2011, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default installing a new power supply

hi i wanna install a new psu. Since i bought a nvidia geforce gtx 560 ti (overclocked). my computer is a hp-elite m9525f. my computer specs are intel core 2 quad, windows vista home premium 64bit, 6 gb of ddr2, and my old graphic card is a nvidia geforce 9300 ge which is ****. anyways lets get to the point, i cant find any power supply since my computer has some sort of lever to hold the psu into place and i cant find that anywhere on these new psu's. and i dont know how to put in these new psu's

govnoman13 is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: installing a new power supply

Take a picture of your case, with the left side panel open. Likely, you have a non-standard, or low profile, PSU.

__________________ Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 06:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: installing a new power supply

Theyre usually not "cliped" in, theres 4 screws at the back/outside that release it.
Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
desktop won't power up - blinking bule light - power supply? djreef Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-23-2009 11:33 AM
Dell desktop won't power up - blinking orange light - power supply? VgRt6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 21 12-23-2009 08:27 AM
Installing a power supply MuRdA Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 08-22-2005 11:59 AM
Installing a video card that needs power supply gomer555 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-16-2004 04:46 PM
Power Supply in Case Bundled VS POWER SUPLY ON ITS OWN cell567 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 03-16-2004 12:35 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.