Installing a New Graphics Card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2010, 08:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

You can't use your hard drive in another computer. Not only will it not work, but it violates the Windows license which is tied to your current hardware.

DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 10:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

Are you serious? I thought my Windows license lets me use my OS in one computer - any one computer. In any case, given that they won't support Win XP any more, I hardly think they have the right to insist on maintaining licensing requirements. (Okay, okay, that's me grumbling. I'm not off to do anything illegal, because I'm the one who always gets caught.)

Anyway, things are looking more hopeful re the power supply. The label is very hard to read -it's tucked deep into the computer and shadowed by other components. it's also much smaller than others I've seen and interspersed with Chinese and what looks like microscopic Hebrew. I was unable to get a camera shot (too dark, too small, couldn't get an angle that wasn't distorted), so I copied the info as best I could. (Notice the 300W written in orange! It was so small I didn't see it the first time. Does it mean I can use a graphics card that requires a 300W power supply? I was going by the "total power output cannot exceed" lines before.

Mfr: Delta Electronics
Model: DP8-300AB-19A RBV: 00F
Input: 100 - 127 V ~ /8A
47 Hz - 83 Hz ..... 200 - 240 V 14A
Output: +12V /19A ..... +3.3V /18A
Max Power: +5V /25A +5Vstb /2A
300W .... -12V /0.8A

and then there are two bar codes, and written above them are:
HP PIN: 5188-2625
DLT 300AB 19A 00F

Siena1383 is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 10:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Resident Nightowl
Fat.Clown's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

it does not look you do any gaming.... so I don't know why we're even talking about power supply

if you just need something that works
MSI N8400GS-D256H GeForce 8400 GS 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Low Profile Ready Video Card
$30 dollars
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 10:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

A retail version will let you, but not an OEM version.

Yep, looks like a 300W, but I would call it a 250W due to the max output.

You've got PM.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 10:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

Interestingly, Best Buy just sold me an NVIDIA GeForce 8400 (for twice the price, but at least I can return it).

The whole point was, I thought my power supply was not the required 300W.

So my current question is, from the label info I posted, is it 300W after all, or do I go by the "Maximum ouput cannot exceed" numbers?
Siena1383 is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 12:09 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

Still hoping for an answer to this last, very urgent question about which wattage on the label I use to determine whether I can use a graphics card that requires 300W?
Siena1383 is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 09:22 AM   #17 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,723
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

taken from the guide here *READ FIRST* Updated Power supply guide

Continuous vs. Peak wattage

There are some companies such as PC Power and Cooling that will advertise the continuous wattage of their product, where as most companies advertise the peak output of their product. The difference between the two is the peak output is the maximum wattage that power supply can output. It cannot maintain this level for long periods of time, but can produce the output if demanded. Continuous output means the power supply is able to output that specific wattage for an indefinite amount of time (Under specific temperatures). The idea here is that if you see two power supplies where one says peak wattage output of 500 watts and another advertised as 500 continuous watts, the one that is rated for a continuous output of 500 watts actually has a much higher peak ratting. Continuous output is more important than peak, it is not safe or wise to have a power supply running at or near it’s peak output, as this will cause more inconsistent voltages, amperages, decreases in efficiency and increases risk of failure. It is recommended to purchase a power supply that is able to output more than your system requires.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 12:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

Thanks, Muffin Man, for the link to the power supply guide. I skimmed it, but a good deal of it was over my head, and it didn't answer my basic questions (except the part about rails helped a bit).

What would happen if my power supply got overloaded? Would it blow out the whole motherboard?

Fat Clown talks about gaming. I'm not hard core, but I do play games that require 3D graphics, and I watch movies and TV over the Internet, so I need to be sure my power supply can handle those things with the new card without being overloaded.

Trotter, somehow your post didn't show up until today, even though you posted before I did? Huh.

I guess at this point, I feel it's safe to at least try installing the thing and seeing if it brings back my 3D graphics. If it doesn't, all of this becomes moot anyway. Even so, I'll still check back in case anyone answers my question above.
Siena1383 is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 01:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

A failed power supply can take out a whole system. It's not worth it. If you want to upgrade, upgrade. Don't do it half way and risk taking out more system components.
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 06:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

Thanks for the answer, DoubleHelix.

I specifically DO NOT want to upgrade. That is a last resort.

Siena1383 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Card Display problem. Sketzii Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 09-03-2009 03:36 PM
GPU fan stopped working, need advise on new graphics card dkh System Upgrades 11 06-09-2009 09:11 PM
Now for the Graphics Card, Help! TaskTool New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-04-2009 08:41 PM
graphics card issues LostAcres Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 11-27-2008 08:45 PM
Graphics Card and Power Supply ratzlaff System Upgrades 6 04-29-2008 11:55 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.