Installing a New Graphics Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2010, 06:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default Installing a New Graphics Card

My graphics card may need replacing. How hard is it to install one, and what is involved? (Like, will I need to do any soldering or wiring?)

I have a desktop with a regular-sized (not slimline) tower, Windows XP Pro/Media Center and would be replacing an NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE card with whatever fits and is compatible.

I've installed modems back in the days of dial-up, but never a graphics card. Is this harder, easier, the same, very different?

Thanks!
__________________

Siena1383 is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

Its the same. No soldering or anything like that. You just insert it into the slot. It may need to be connected to the powersupply depending on the video card. The 6150 is an integrated chipset so you won't be removing anything; you will only be adding a video card if you have an available slot. You should have a pci-express slot free. So it depends on your powersupply whether it can handle your video card, depending how power hungry of a card you get.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

Thanks for answering, aliasaid.

The label on my power supply says "Maximum output 175 watts" and even the least powerful graphics cards seem to require at least 300W output. So I don't know what to do.

Anyone have any ideas? Buying a new computer would mean I wouldn't be able to use most of my software, so I really want to save this one.
Siena1383 is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 05:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

You definitely need a new power supply. What kind of software do you have that you will not be able to use on a new machine?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 05:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

MS Office 2003, old Visual Studio, old Adobe PhotoShop and probably other stuff I'm not remembering at this second.
Siena1383 is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 05:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

I would think you would be able to use that software on a new machine as long as you uninstall it from the old machine.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 06:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

No, it's too old to be compatible with Windows 7. I'm told even Office 2003 won't work.

In any case, i can't really afford - and don't want - a new system.

Can anyone offer any ideas for fixing the one I have????
Siena1383 is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 07:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

If you would list the components in your system, by Manufacturer and Model# if possible, it would help.
Motherboard
Power Supply

Is this a Dell, HP or something simular? Then we'll only need the make and model of the tower and not the components.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 07:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

Who told you Office 2003 can't be installed on Windows 7? I haven't tried it yet, but I have no doubt that it can. Windows 7 has a compatibility mode that can be used to install software that might give fits, but unless we're talking about ancient software here, it would probably work.

You haven't provided any information about your computer, so it's hard to recommend anything. However, a 175W power supply indicates a very old, brand-name computer, so your video card options are probably very limited.

If your only problem is that you installed a piece of software that caused a problem with your system, reinstalling Windows would be a cheap option to get things back up and running if neither uninstalling the application or system restore work.
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 09:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default Re: Installing a New Graphics Card

Okay, sorry. I have an HP Invent (or HP Pavilion 061 - it says one in some places, the other in other places). Model number is a1600n. Geez, I've got it memorized now!

Motherboard:
--- Mfr: ASUSTek
--- Product Name: NODUSM3
--- Version 3.07
--- Release Date: 08/02/2006 (interesting, since I bought it in January of 2006)
--- ROM: 512 KB

Chips: AMD Athlon 64 x Dual Core Processor 3800+ CPU:0
--- Speed: 1.75 GHz
and: AMD Athlon 64 x Dual Core Processor 3800+ CPU:1
--- Speed: 2.00 GHz

Total Physical Memory: 960 MB
Free Physical Memory: 448.44 MB
Total Virtual Memory: 2.00 GB
Free Virtual Memory: 1.95 GB

Hard Drive: ST3200820AS

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE (integrated chipset, I'm told)
Sound Card: RealTek
Network Card: NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller

Ooperating System: Windows XP Media Center Edition Professional, Service Pack 3
DirectX: 9.0c

Good thing you don't need all this for an HP, because PC Doctor isn't listing the power supply. I'll log off and open the box and get that info on here anyway, for anyone willing to take a look who doesn't have access to HP model specs.

------------------------------------------
DoubleHelix, a techie at a store told me that about Office 2003 not being usable on Windows 7. Glad to know he's wrong, but I don't want a new PC. I really want to use THIS hard drive. It occurs to me I'd be better off trying to find & buy a used HP, the model I have, and moving my HD to that box if I must.

------------------------------------------

One more question. Yes, I'm a noob, and after all these years, too! Anyway, I ran chkdsk, something I have done since the days of Windows 95. So it ran, and then the DOS window closed and that was that. So, newbie question: Wouldn't it have generated a log file? And if so, where would that file be????
__________________

Siena1383 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Card Display problem. Sketzii Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 09-03-2009 04:36 PM
GPU fan stopped working, need advise on new graphics card dkh System Upgrades 11 06-09-2009 10:11 PM
Now for the Graphics Card, Help! TaskTool New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-04-2009 09:41 PM
graphics card issues LostAcres Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 11-27-2008 09:45 PM
Graphics Card and Power Supply ratzlaff System Upgrades 6 04-29-2008 12:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.