install a new HD question

Status
Not open for further replies.

hdansjr

In Runtime
I'm getting a new HD today. I have 3 system recovery cds, not an actual copy of Windows CD. When i plug in the new hard drive and fire up the computer and put the recovery disk 1 in, will that work with my new hard drive? Currently my hard drive is partitioned so that 15 GB is the "C" drive and 45 is the "D" drive. So will i need to partition the drive after i install it and reinstall windows? I'm a total newbie to all of this. I've been reading a lot about this issue, and i'm still kinda lost. Also, my current HD is 60 GB. WIll my computer recognize a new 80 GB HD?

I'm afraid that won't work because the recovery discs are only for the HD that it originally came with.

So I wont' be able to get a new HD. It's knocking right now....crap that was my last attempt at fixing this old one...now i'll need to get a new computer...crap

So i just called a number for Sony and I was told as long as i can get a HD that is the same size as the existing one, the recovery cds will work. I may give it a shot

So in my last post i stated that I spoke with Sony supprot and was told that I needed to get a 60 BD harddrive in order for the recovery disks to work. If the recovery disks work, why couldn't I just get an 80 GB drive and be done with it? The reason i'm asking, is because from my searching, i'll have to special order a 60 GB from a manufacture. I'd rather just go to a local store and pick up an 80 Gig.

Well, I'm pretty sure that those recovery discs are only partial to you're motherboard/component setup. I highly doubt that if you change the HD that it wouldn't let you install. I would definitely get the same brand though.

This is my theory:

Say you buy a dell (I chose dell only because I know they give you a recovery disc rather than an OEM windows xp), they hand out the same disc for just about every model. So what would be the difference between using it on a 60gb comp or an 80gb comp.