install it manually or have it come with it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Which one?
Have it come with everything I want. 3 60.00%
Upgrade it yourself. 2 40.00%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2007, 04:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Default install it manually or have it come with it?

Im looking to get a laptop and want to know is it worth buying a simple laptop then upgrading the ram and hard drive and other stuff myself to save money or would it just be better to have it come with all that stuff?
__________________

master353 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 04:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: install it manually or have it come with it?

Hello,

It depends what laptop you're thinking of getting, what places are selling it, what prices it's being sold at and with what configuration it's available.

I upgraded the RAM on my notebook myself, from 512MB to 1024MB, but only because the model wasn't sold with a configuration of 1GB RAM.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: install it manually or have it come with it?

Depends if you get a warrenty with it, if you don't then it doesn't make much difference.

If it does, changing the hardware will probs void the warrenty.
__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: install it manually or have it come with it?

You would want to look at laptops with all your said upgrades already built into it and check those prices to your laptop then look at the prices of the upgrades you want and which ever place has the needed upgrades the cheapest and add those prices to the price of your laptop when you bought it and if its cheaper then i would go with that...... also going off what Raze664 said about the warranty if you have a warranty for your laptop thats going to be upgraded then do not try to upgrade it yourself because you can possibly void the warranty by taking it apart... plus if you mess something up and the warranty is void your up the creek without a paddle dude...

anyways it all depends on what you want to do with the laptop
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Default Re: install it manually or have it come with it?

Mainly for playing around. Its probaly is going to be a dell. I looked at some other ones.
master353 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: install it manually or have it come with it?

Upgrading the RAM does not void the warranty, in almost all of today's laptops.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 11:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: install it manually or have it come with it?

what i failed to mention in my post was that if you change the hdd then it could possibly void the warranty

by playing around do you mean play low graphics games? such as sims or something of the like? or just surfin the net and doing office work?
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 10:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Default Re: install it manually or have it come with it?

Just like computer games, not like the sims, more like halo and surfing the web. Some school stuff too.
__________________

master353 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Error Code: '1722' ezysk Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-12-2007 10:27 PM
URGENT HELP! Post Windows Install Keeps Deleting My Partitions datahead Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-12-2007 09:57 AM
Formatting a Laptop running XP to install Win 98 SE Cyber.Logan Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-31-2007 05:36 PM
Photoshop wont install! Help mobkon Microsoft Windows and Software 13 05-29-2007 05:05 PM
Vista install Xandrex New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 04:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.