Insane computer setup - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2006, 08:05 PM   #21 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

actually i dont think that OCing is such a good idea in your situation. i would be tempted by an ASUS board, two 7800GTXs, 2gigs of OCZ, 40 GIG raptor boot drive and then a RAID (5) of identical high capacity drives, such as hitachi deskstars (up to 500 gig each) an AMD fx 60 and powered by an FSP or enermax PSU
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:25 PM   #22 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

this is what i would buy with all that £

http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?l...44&modelmenu=1

http://www.bfgtech.com/7800GTX_512_PCIX.html x2

http://www.ocztechnology.com/product...atinum_edition (or something like this)

http://www.westerndigital.com/en/pro...65&Language=en

http://www.hitachigst.com/portal/sit...86b31bac4f0a0/ some of these

with all that money, go for it!
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 09:33 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vybuni

As for cooling, check out this article
http://www.anandtech.com/tradeshows/...spx?i=2669&p=2
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Watercooling is for wimps. Why water when you can phase.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:13 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

If he's got an unlimited budget i would go with a 147 GB Cheetah then 2x 500gb barrucudas.

If your going single processor with unlimited money definitely Fx60.


I would wait for the new Nvidia cards to come out before you build it though.
d0ntcar3 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:20 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

water cooling setup:

swiftech storm
iwaki pump
maze4 gpu
t line
thermochill PA 120.3
mountainmods ufo-2 cube
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 04:17 AM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Money ain't a problem? Screw getting a computer, buy an F-15.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 04:31 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chron
Didnt know nvidia's new release will be so soon. I'll let him know but hes not gonna know what im talkin about anyways.

As far as SATA II, I think I'm gonna have to pass on it. I'll go with RAID. I've heard better things from my CSS clan mates.

I always thought ASUS had the best mobo? Guess not?

And as far as 4 gigs go, if its gonna be a 64 bit system then theoretically 16gb would be possible and someday soon 4 gb will be usefull. Am I thinking too far into the future? His computer rite now is a 350Mhz Gateway with windows 98 (not even SE) so this shows u how long he makes his computers last.

Also check out this case I've ordered for him. this thing is SWEET

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811163057
Why is that case so expensive? I understand some people are big money spenders, but I find it hard for someone to accept buying a $365 case. Try looking at the Thermaltake Shark. $200 cheaper and just as good.
Shocker is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 05:19 AM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

If i had that much money going into something i surely would want to get a side panel and i would be showing it off to everyone that i could...the mail man....milk driver... ANYONE!
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 06:30 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

why go FX60 when ou can go dual opteron 280s in socket 940, this ALSO opens up SCSI as the hard drive interface which we ALL know PWNS!!
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 07:57 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Just because you can spend $6000 on a system doens't mean you should. Why not spend a fraction of that for slightly less performance. Especially when new technology is always around the corner, it makes sense to buy the slightly worse performing, but half as much product.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.