im stupid ok - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2005, 06:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default im stupid ok

does memory interface make a big difference?

128bit vs 256bit?

what is memory interface anyways
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 06:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yes your stupid, we finally agree on something

128 bit vs 256 bit is how many bits are sent in a clock cycle. So doubble the bitrate, doubble the bandwidth.

Just like 16 and 32 bit processors... for the main part.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Yes your stupid, we finally agree on something
Unecessary
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 06:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

dont worry, chris never liked me in the first place..

so is it a big difference between 128 and 256. or is it like 128mb and 256 mb of memory
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Hey im just pulling your w/e
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 07:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

nF3 ultra chipset ok with a nvidia 6600GT?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I don't think chipsets matter much with video cards, 128MB of memory is pretty good for most games right now.
memory interface 256 bit, 128MB DDR or GDR3 or whatever type of memory and PCI Express and ull be good.
Ste is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

agp 8x
128MB
128 bit
GDDR3
nvidia

i read somewhere that nvidia tried so hard to make the chipsets work good with ati cards that they didnt make it good with their cards
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
i read somewhere that nvidia tried so hard to make the chipsets work good with ati cards that they didnt make it good with their cards
that's pretty much true...don't know how it'll effect the 6600GT, but I know the nf3 chipset hinders the 6800GT that's for sure, nf2 and nf4 are great chipsets but then they fugged up with nf3..

a lot of people experienced random freezes in games, not permanent freeze like...the entire thing would freeze for 1-3 seconds then play fine again....seems to be something with the throughput.

My 6800GT clocked to 433/1185 on my nf2 and XP-M platform..I move it to nf3 and the chipset wont allow me to go further than 415/1120....

google up '6800 nf3 chipset' or something along those lines and you'll find tons of people with issues with it
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
a lot of people experienced random freezes in games, not permanent freeze like...the entire thing would freeze for 1-3 seconds then play fine again....seems to be something with the throughput.
Thats whats happening to me right now, except I have an Abit AV8 with a K8T800Pro chipset.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.