Im a noob with some gaming computer component questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

cwuarre

Baseband Member
My current computer specs are...
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 510 MB RAM
Video Card: RADEON X600 256MB HyperMemory
I play Battlefield 2 and I have lag as it is, pretty bad too. I wanted too get into video editing for game movies and things like that but trying to use a program like fraps and a video game like bf2 is terrible so I was wondering what do I need too get too make games and my computer overall run faster.
Plus, I was wondering if someone could give me some examples of what the differences would be if I got a better video card.

Im willing to spend about $500 total (excluding vid card). If you need anything more just ask.

How do I tell?
Sorry man im a noob with computers haha

EDIT:
I understand ram is pretty cheap so would it make that much of a difference if I through 4gigs of ram in my computer

Download a program called CPU-Z, and when you run it, go to the mainboard tab. It should say graphics interface at the bottom.

Check out the build I posted up earlier.

I checked the stuff you posted above but wouldnt it be smarter to just put money into the stuff that I want better instead of making everything better?
it says PCI express

Hasnt this been getting a little bit off topic, I wanted too know how too get less lag... or would a video card help?

OK that's up to you. I was just suggesting that you can make an overall better computer, than your current.

If you just plan on sticking with that computer, I suggest you upgrade the CPU, RAM, Graphic card, and what is your power supply? Brand, model, and amperage on +12v rails, because you might have to upgrade that too. Also can you tell me the model of your motherboard?

heh uhoh how do I find all that stuff out? Should I just use the same program because if so which things do I need to look for too tell you.