Im dumb, a total noob and i got some questions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 11:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Default

ahh good idea but who would buy just the tower? and it sucks, even with the geforce fx 5500 i put in it its still a horrible peice of **** that i hate..

but where could i sell it? also, how would I destroy all the files on it so no one could like, see my passwords and stuff?

and thanks for those links, wow a dvd burner for 40 bucks, i assume it reads cd's and stuff too.. what a great deal

and 200gb storage :O that would ROCK!! i hate deleting stuff

thanks for the quality links
__________________

reiko_ambrose is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 02:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Default

heres a pic of inside the pc, could someone tell me what everything is and where the new stuff would go. i know what t he motherboard is but thats about it..

__________________

reiko_ambrose is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 02:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by juststarting123
a good motherboard to start out with would be this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491
then get an ok graphic card

EDIT: get a EVGA e-GeForce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 AGP graphic card here:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130232
mobo=pci-e
gpu=agp............
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Default

......what
reiko_ambrose is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Don't bother with that. It was just misreading, it doesn't matter. Guitarfreak was just pointing it out. What are the specs of your computer? If you don't know you can download Belarc Advisor here and then just post back with an answer. The reason I'm asking this is just to see how much your computer can pull in as far as money goes. You also actually have to pick up a new copy of windows XP. Just grab one from www.newegg.com
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 04:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

You know, if you're trying to save a buck, you can reuse the hard drive, and the processor. It'll save you a lot of money. You don't want to build an AWESOME system around a X800GTO2 or anything.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 04:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Default

Operating System System Model
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 (build 2600) Dell Computer Corporation Dimension 3000
System Service Tag: (support for this PC)
Chassis Serial Number:
Enclosure Type: Mini-Tower
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
3.00 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
16 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: Dell Computer Corp. 0R8060
Serial Number: ..
Bus Clock: 800 megahertz
BIOS: Dell Computer Corporation A02 11/08/2004
Drives Memory Modules c,d
76.20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
38.38 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

SAMSUNG CD-ROM SC-148A

WDC WD800BB-75JHA0 [Hard drive] (80.00 GB) -- drive 0, s/n WD-WMAM94900950, rev 05.01C05, SMART Status: Healthy 510 Megabytes Installed Memory

Slot 'DIMM_1' has 256 MB
Slot 'DIMM_2' has 256 MB
Local Drive Volumes


c: (NTFS on drive 0) 76.20 GB 38.38 GB free

i figured thats what you meant?

also, LOL 93 dollars for windows, especially when i already have a windows disc.. i dont think so hahaha
reiko_ambrose is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 04:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
You know, if you're trying to save a buck, you can reuse the hard drive, and the processor. It'll save you a lot of money. You don't want to build an AWESOME system around a X800GTO2 or anything.

Ryan
ahh i dont like anything on this dell though.. i want one thats fast for a change, also, i could always buy a new video card if i wanted to, its not like it would be locked in ya know

edit- hey i live in kansas city, i see you live in pleasent hill cool
reiko_ambrose is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 05:31 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

sure thing. I'm in Kansas City right now. I go to school at Rockhurst University.

You could reuse the hard drive... It can be storage or a primary. It's not going to be slow.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 05:49 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Get a socket 939 mobo with an athlon 64 cpu
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.