If I was to change only one hardware - what would it be? (specs inside) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2016, 05:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: If I was to change only one hardware - what would it be? (specs inside)

Yea I just checked their Rev2 and on Newegg. Kinda stupid, considering my P55 board wasn't a USB3 model and it had SATA3 on the 2 white slots.

Oh well, to the OP, it won't affect the real speed which is IOPS, only sequential read/write.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 06:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Israel
Posts: 24
Default Re: If I was to change only one hardware - what would it be? (specs inside)

hey all,
just to update you - i've just tried connecting the ssd to one of the white ports and if anything it gave me about 3rd of the performance i had. and on the diagnostics of the Samsung Magician it said he doesn't even recognize the SATA (while it was connected to the white ports)...
this makes me believe that the white ports are actually much less good. so for now, i've returned it to one of the blue ports.
i think my motherboard is a dinasour and so it doesn't have any SATA3 (whatever that is).

any recommendations on a motherboard that is cheap and yet will do the job? and will be compatible with my CPU??

THIS IS MY SPECS (a reminder):
__________________

amirgelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 07:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: If I was to change only one hardware - what would it be? (specs inside)

Like PP said, don't worry about upgrading just for SATA3.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 08:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: If I was to change only one hardware - what would it be? (specs inside)

You can get a pci-e sata III card but you may or may not notice much difference
This one's on sale for $17. with promo code EMCEGGK35
SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card - Newegg.com

I have an old X58 board and I think it's a little better than just running my SSD on sata II, of course it's not as good as having sata III on the board, but a little bit helps, and it's only $17.
__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 10:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: If I was to change only one hardware - what would it be? (specs inside)

The white ports on that H57 board are controlled by a Gigabyte SATA controller.

SATA3 is SATA 6Gb/s which is double the throughput of SATA2 3Gb/s. The only difference you'll see is sequential read and write speed. Basically, instead of 450MB/s read and write file transfer you'll be limited to 250MB/s. That's not really a big deal because you don't have another SSD in your system to move files back and forth to. The speed from an SSD comes from IOPS, no spinning parts, no latency, and no seek/access times.

Don't bother getting a new motherboard for this, you won't notice a difference so it's a lot of work for nothing. Plus, nobody sells these boards new for a reasonable price.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my PC that I built this year already outdated!?! Specs inside... King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 10 11-01-2007 01:33 AM
Is this a good gaming computer? Specs inside. hashbrowns New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-12-2007 05:08 PM
System Specs Inside: Do I need a bigger PSU? King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 12 02-01-2007 03:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.