IDE HD not detected - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2007, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default IDE HD not detected

This is my first build so it's been a two month learning process. I'm trying to install a clean blank HD to load Windows XP. The BIOS detects the drive. The BIOS checker that is on the installation CD detects it but when it comes to actually working with the drive, it is as if it isn't there. When I try to use the diagnostics tool on HD installation CD it does not detect the HD. Also, I've tried using an XP Home installation CD and it doesn't detect the drive. The HD tech line people told me to return the HD which I did. Since I've had four different HD's with the same results, 2 maxtors, a seagate, and a western digital. I am hoping that I just have a CMOS setting wrong. Please help!!!! The MB is a MSI PM8M-V, Celeron 2.8 processor, PNY 512 GB memory, Maxtor 80 GB IDE HD.

kurnlor is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 01:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
bobojuice's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice

Probably have to load the F6 drivers for the ide controller. Try that.

Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
bobojuice is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 07:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3

I want to explain the problem alittle further. Everything boots up fine until it is time for the CD/DVD to communicate to the HD. The maxtor installation cd freezes when trying to install/format the drive and the same thing goes for the the XP installation CD.

Which BIOS seeting should I check to make sure both IDE channels are enabled ?

I think I've tried to set the jumper to master and it didn't work. I'll try again. Right now, it is set to cable select. I don't know if it makes a difference but I have the CD/DVD and the HD connected with two seperate cables. The HD is connected with IDE1 and the CD/DVD is connected to IDE2
kurnlor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.