i3 v i5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2011, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default i3 v i5

Going to buy a Laptop with either i3 or i5 processor. Wont be using it for gaming or video editing, so should i just go with the i3, or is it worth it to pay £50 more and get the i5?
__________________

__________________
“The best plans of men and mice often go awry”
clark33 is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: i3 v i5

I have an ASUS laptop with an i3 330UM. I am fine with it, could even play SC2 on medium settings. But I don't play it anymore. Good all-around laptop.

Unless you are doing CPU intensive work, the i5 wouldn't help you. Unless there is a feature in the i5 that you do like. That would be the deciding factor, not necessarily the CPU.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 12:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: i3 v i5

I wouldn't. If I was only going to use it for general browsing/student work then an i3 will be plenty.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: i3 v i5

Ive went for the i3 processor. Hope it suits me well. I dont play games but use computers for surfing the net and storing my music collection generally. Also, just use office apps for certain things. The one im getting should be good for DVDs aswell. Dont watch a lot of films but plan to on the new one. I think i3 is the right choice for me.
__________________
“The best plans of men and mice often go awry”
clark33 is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 03:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: i3 v i5

Anything can play a DVD... Even played one on my Atom CPU...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 04:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: i3 v i5

The notebook ive used for the past 3 years is an intel atom. The only change i did was to upgrade the ram from 1 to 2gb. It serves its purpose well, copes with anything i need it to do really. Find the 120gb HD a bit restriced though, as would like to have lots of you tube videos and home movies saved to the HDD.
__________________
“The best plans of men and mice often go awry”
clark33 is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 04:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: i3 v i5

External drive? :P
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 04:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: i3 v i5

Its funny you should say that. One of my external drives is a "passport" model. Its really all setup to be a backup drive. Ive got another 500GB external, that I used as a second backup source. Never really occurred to me to use one of them for keeping large files/home videos on. ah well, every day you learn something new!
__________________
“The best plans of men and mice often go awry”
clark33 is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 06:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: i3 v i5

If its only a little extra money go with the i5 you can never have enough processing power, ram and hard drives spindle count spindle count spindle count
__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 07:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: i3 v i5

He said he already got the i3, and 50 pounds isn't considered a little bit more. It's wasted space he'll never use.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.