I want to buy RAM - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2008, 09:22 AM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

I cant do that though as i bought a 2 gig bit. Maybe i should put one of the other 512 bit's on the other channel then but i think that would exceed my capacity. It seems a lot quicker than before.
__________________

clark33 is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 09:36 AM   #22 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

i m sure it does. can you return the 2gb stick and purchase 2 x 1gb instead? of course, if you are satisfied with the performance, there is no need to do that.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 09:40 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

Ive thrown the box away, so its to late. Im going to put in one of my 512 sticks though - as that might make a difference!
clark33 is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 09:41 AM   #24 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

okay. it may not boot, but it shouldnt harm anything. im curious as to the result of you doing that, as well.
*NOTE*
always keep the box
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 09:45 AM   #25 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

Nagasama stop confusing the poor guy the speed difference is negligible when in dual channel. Always keeping the box is a good rule but mainly for expensive things like cpu's and graphics card imo.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 09:48 AM   #26 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

ok. sorry OP for any confusion
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 10:43 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

Ok, that's the 512 bit in the other channel. It's difficult to tell if there is an immediate difference. I've right clicked my comp and it says "2.50GB Ram". Surely, there should be a slight difference from 2GB. Slightly worried that going beyond my capacity may cause damage.
clark33 is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 10:22 AM   #28 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

i did some checking. that mobo supports 4gb of memory.
so, if you want, you could go and get another 2gb stick. 32 bit windows will not see quite all of it though.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 02:46 AM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

Yep, i dont want to get to far ahead of myself! I would only install 4gb of memory if i was doing some serious number crunching! I cant believe how cheap it is to get these parts now-a-days!
__________________

clark33 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding RAM to my laptop dominican2589 System Upgrades 4 12-12-2008 01:24 PM
RAM Upgrade mcarlg System Upgrades 9 12-07-2008 03:16 PM
RAM Speed on Laptops Liamando Laptops and Notebooks 4 11-20-2008 11:46 PM
New Ram - Quick question mack Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-09-2008 07:24 PM
Problem Posting After Ram Upgrade skylinegtrv98 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-28-2008 02:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.