I want to buy RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2008, 11:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Question I want to buy RAM

Hi -

I want to buy extra RAM for my PC, as the more RAM you have - the better performance you get. The problem is, I haven't ever bought RAM before and i am not sure if i have to get a certain type that is compatable to my PC.

My maximum capacity is 2048MB (2 Gigs). I currently have 2 512 MBs (giving me a Gig), in 2 seperate slots. So, I am assuming there must be another 2 empty slots, to support the max capacity. The types are both DDR2.

Does this mean I can go out and buy any DDR2 RAM and slot it into place?
__________________

clark33 is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 11:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

What motherboard do you have? It is best but not necessary to match the speeds but with how low prices are right now it might be best to get 2x1gb and toss the other two.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 11:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

Really, are the prices that low!

My motherboard is a:-

ASUS P5G-MX. Ive also found out I only have 2 memory slots, so that means - I'd have to swap rather than add!

So, can i buy DDR2. I have an Intel Core Duo 2Cpu at 2.40Mhz - if that helps.
clark33 is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

This is the memory your motherboard supports.

Dual channel DDR2 667

I know you are in scotland but I do not know any places there to give you an idea you could get something like this.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

If you can travel to Ayr, Scotland then these guys are great and have brilliant advice
KustomPCs - HTPC, Gaming, CarPC, Cooling and Modding Products in the UK !

Its not a rule that the more ram you have the faster your computer runs actually with 1gb on xp you should be fine for general use although if your a gamer then 2gb is needed.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

Thanks for the replys:-

Hefemeister - your information is very valuable to me, i'll have a look around the web for a decent supplier. Merry Christmas to Sweden.

Saltynay - Yes, this is exactly what im looking for. I cant believe i can get a 2 gig piece of RAM for around £25. That would mean i would have 2.5 gigs, assuming i replace one of my 512s with a 2gb.!!!
clark33 is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

What ram are you using now? if you do not know run cpuz to find out.
CPUID

And a merry Christmas to you as well across the channel.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

Im using 2 512mb bits in each slot:

DDR2 (PC2-5300)
333MHz (DDR2 667)
Supported frequencies 200mhz, 266mhz, 333mhz (my CPU is 6600 at 2.40 Ghz - so im not sure how this relates to the supported frequencies?).
clark33 is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 02:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

That means your cpu frequency is at 266mhz. And since your processor, a E6600, has a multiplier of 9. Then that equals to 2.4Ghz.
(266 x 9 = 2394)
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 11:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 8
Default Re: I want to buy RAM

love kingston. matched ur specs so see how this does for ya.:laughing:
Newegg.com - Kingston ValueRAM 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________

guilTrip is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding RAM to my laptop dominican2589 System Upgrades 4 12-12-2008 01:24 PM
RAM Upgrade mcarlg System Upgrades 9 12-07-2008 03:16 PM
RAM Speed on Laptops Liamando Laptops and Notebooks 4 11-20-2008 11:46 PM
New Ram - Quick question mack Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-09-2008 07:24 PM
Problem Posting After Ram Upgrade skylinegtrv98 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-28-2008 02:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.