I wanna new motherboard......just because? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2013, 05:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default I wanna new motherboard......just because?

So I want to get a new motherboard, cause I'm sick of my old one.

There's nothing wrong with it, but I want something worthy of my other components. I want preferably an E-ATX board, and my budget is no more than $300 before shipping.

I was looking around at two earlier today:
ASUS Maximus V Formula/Assassins C3
ASRock Z77 Extreme9

Does anybody have any other thoughts, opinions, interjections?
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: I wanna new motherboard......just because?

Worthy of your components? My friend running SLI 680s (who is about to grab Titans) has a cheaper board than yours lol. Not exactly an interjection, but just saying that's a terrible excuse to burn money

I vote, ASRock
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: I wanna new motherboard......just because?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Worthy of your components? My friend running SLI 680s (who is about to grab Titans) has a cheaper board than yours lol. Not exactly an interjection, but just saying that's a terrible excuse to burn money

I vote, ASRock
He has a cheaper board than what I have currently, or what I was looking at?
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 05:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: I wanna new motherboard......just because?

What you have currently. He has a GB Z68 UD3 and a 2600+.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 01:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: I wanna new motherboard......just because?

Now here's another question though:
Seeing as my current mb doesn't have pci express 3.0, wouldn't it better to have a board that does for the 680? or would it not make that much of a difference?
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 01:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: I wanna new motherboard......just because?

Unless you add another it wont matter. A single 680 or 7970 doesn't fill a 16x 2.0 bus but in SLI on the mainstream platform when they are dropped to 8x it does cap. It isn't noticeable though. I mean, SLI 680s guy on the crappy GB board has no issues with 1080p Surround.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 07:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: I wanna new motherboard......just because?

I'm just going to go with a cheaper normal ATX board, and it's going to be this one:
Amazon.com: AS Rock LGA1155 DDR3 SATA3 USB3.0 Quad CrossFireX and Quad SLI A GbE ATX Motherboard Z77 EXTREME6: Computers & Accessories

The "just because" turned into a "must" if I wanna do SLI when I get more money, seeing as my current board doesn't support SLI

Thanks PP for the recommendation for ASRock boards and the info about pci-e 3.0.
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: I wanna new motherboard......just because?

Guess it doesn't. 4x slots suck.

ASRock is awesome! Love my Extreme 6.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.