I was thinking about upgrading a few things... (help) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2010, 12:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default I was thinking about upgrading a few things... (help)

I am going to be upgrading to Windows 7 soon and was thinking I might upgrade a few other things. Let me know what you think, if this is a good idea, if I'm on the right track, etc.

My current specs...

CPU:
Intel C2D E7200 @ 3.33GHz (OC'd from 2.53 GHz)
L2 Cache: 3 MB
FSB: 1066 MHz

RAM:
4 gb OCZ DDR2 800
Latency: 4
Timing: 4-4-4-15

Now I'm wanting to go quad-core, and AMD is a whole lot cheaper than Intel, so I'm thinking of going AMD.

What I'm looking at...

CPU:
AMD Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 2.9GHz
L2 Cache: 4 x 512 KB
Hyper Transports: 4000MHz (is this AMD's version of FSB?)
AM3

Edit (additional CPU consideration):
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition Deneb @ 3.0 GHz
L2: 4 x 512KB
L3: 6 MB
Hyper Transports: 3600MHz
AM2+

Just saw this one and thought I would list it. It's a bit more expensive (about $30) so I'm wondering if it's a huge jump or not from the one I listed above. It's also a 125 watter compared to the former which is 95, and my current is 65. Are more watts really that bad?


RAM:
2GB Crucial DDR3 1333
Latency: 7
Timing: 7-7-7-24

Could I expect to notice an increase in performance in games, multitasking, and overall system responsiveness? Will it be necessary to OC the processor or is it a good deal faster than my current one already? (I don't know if I want to spend the extra $40 right now for another Freezer 7 Pro) Will 2 gigs of the DDR3 be better than the 4 gigs of DDR2 that I have now? Sorry for the noob questions but I'm very unfamiliar with DDR3 and quad-core changes and terminology. If you have any better suggestions they, of course, would be appreciated. I want to spend less than 300 on this (which includes the mobo, the one I'm currently looking at is this, which I chose because of combo deals with the processors, but suggestions for a cheaper one are also appreciated!)
__________________

ACleverUsername is offline  
Old 06-07-2010, 07:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: I was thinking about upgrading a few things... (help)

You just can't switch from an Intel to an AMD without also changing the motherboard. I'm not really knowledgable on AMD parts so I won't make a recommendation, but I'm sure someone will. Can you give everyone a budget number?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 12:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: I was thinking about upgrading a few things... (help)

Are my edits not showing up?

I'd like to keep the mobo + processor + ram under $300. The lower the better, of course, because I'm also looking into getting an SDD.

Here's my full post + edited in case it's not showing up for anyone else:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACleverUsername View Post
I am going to be upgrading to Windows 7 soon and was thinking I might upgrade a few other things. Let me know what you think, if this is a good idea, if I'm on the right track, etc.

My current specs...

CPU:
Intel C2D E7200 @ 3.33GHz (OC'd from 2.53 GHz)
L2 Cache: 3 MB
FSB: 1066 MHz

RAM:
4 gb OCZ DDR2 800
Latency: 4
Timing: 4-4-4-15

Now I'm wanting to go quad-core, and AMD is a whole lot cheaper than Intel, so I'm thinking of going AMD.

What I'm looking at...

CPU:
AMD Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 2.9GHz
L2 Cache: 4 x 512 KB
Hyper Transports: 4000MHz (is this AMD's version of FSB?)
AM3

Edit (additional CPU consideration):
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition Deneb @ 3.0 GHz
L2: 4 x 512KB
L3: 6 MB
Hyper Transports: 3600MHz
AM2+

Just saw this one and thought I would list it. It's a bit more expensive (about $30) so I'm wondering if it's a huge jump or not from the one I listed above. It's also a 125 watter compared to the former which is 95, and my current is 65. Are more watts really that bad?


RAM:
2GB Crucial DDR3 1333
Latency: 7
Timing: 7-7-7-24

Could I expect to notice an increase in performance in games, multitasking, and overall system responsiveness? Will it be necessary to OC the processor or is it a good deal faster than my current one already? (I don't know if I want to spend the extra $40 right now for another Freezer 7 Pro) Will 2 gigs of the DDR3 be better than the 4 gigs of DDR2 that I have now? Sorry for the noob questions but I'm very unfamiliar with DDR3 and quad-core changes and terminology. If you have any better suggestions they, of course, would be appreciated. I want to spend less than 300 on this (which includes the mobo, the one I'm currently looking at is this, which I chose because of combo deals with the processors, but suggestions for a cheaper one are also appreciated!)
ACleverUsername is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: I was thinking about upgrading a few things... (help)

Trust in Slaymate.

You cannot switch from a Intel to AMD on and Intel board. You have to get a AMD board if you want to switch to AMD.

I am unsure of the AMD realm as well. But you can not switch to the above. This much I know.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 09:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: I was thinking about upgrading a few things... (help)

If you decide to get an SSD, make sure your system supports TRIM!
playfutsal4life is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 09:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I was thinking about upgrading a few things... (help)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Trust in Slaymate.

You cannot switch from a Intel to AMD on and Intel board. You have to get a AMD board if you want to switch to AMD.

I am unsure of the AMD realm as well. But you can not switch to the above. This much I know.
People....... He knows this, and and clarified it in his edit, he wrote "the $300 is for cpu ram and MOBO".

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACleverUsername
I want to spend less than 300 on this (which includes the mobo, the one I'm currently looking at is this, which I chose because of combo deals with the processors, but suggestions for a cheaper one are also appreciated!)
And even included a link to a mobo/cpu combo from newegg
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 09:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: I was thinking about upgrading a few things... (help)

Thank you, patonb.
ACleverUsername is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 10:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: I was thinking about upgrading a few things... (help)

Oh crap. Sorry about that. I'm tired from the day's events. Sometimes I talk before I think...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 11:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: I was thinking about upgrading a few things... (help)

With that motherboard, you will not be able to use the 940 Deneb, it's AM2+ Socket. A lot of people were mad when they tried to upgrade their motherboards when AM3 started coming around. The 635 isn't a bad processor at all, and some have even been able to unlock the L3 cache with a motherboard that support ACC. You'll need the 710 southbridge, I believe. The 850 may be able to, but I have no clue. That would be something I would look into if I were you.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Power supply? chump New Systems | Building and Buying 10 02-12-2010 07:54 PM
upgrading computer/first build alanj System Upgrades 5 01-09-2010 09:02 AM
Opinions on upgrading S0ULphIRE New Systems | Building and Buying 1 11-09-2008 04:02 AM
Help With Upgrading RichM499 Overclocking and Modding 23 10-29-2008 01:37 PM
Upgrading my Gaming Rig - Few questions blayez New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-30-2008 09:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.