i need some help with my CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2008, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Default i need some help with my CPU

i have a compaq evo d5m and it has a intel pentium 4 CUP. it is 1.8 GHz and is socket 478. i just bought a Intel Celeron 2.93Ghz Socket 478 Processor ,and i was wondering if anyone could tell me if that will fit in my computer and were is my processor located in my desktop
__________________

TehTaylor is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 11:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: i need some help with my CPU

I couldn't find out what model is your motherboard,
download and install CPU-Z
which would give us more info

they are the same socket however... thats a good start

image below isn't your exact board, but should be similar, CPU is located where "socket 478 connector" points to
the metal area
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 01:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: i need some help with my CPU

i have it just tell me what you need to know
TehTaylor is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 06:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: i need some help with my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by TehTaylor View Post
i have it just tell me what you need to know

OH WOW


I was debating if I should post back or not

if I was ASKING for the board model, and you HAVE it
the least thing you could do is GIVE it to me
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: i need some help with my CPU

its a compaq model 077Ch. the chip set is intel i845. the soutbridge is intel 82802BA(ICH2)
TehTaylor is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 08:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West"by God" Virginia
Posts: 49
Default Re: i need some help with my CPU

If it doesn't work, would you be interested in a P4(2.8GHz,533FSB). I have one just gathering dust. Cot it from a friend to install in my machine,but my mobo just has 400FSB.
__________________

hrlow2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer without CPU fan? lazycat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-28-2008 12:01 AM
Problem Installing CPU Noniy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-24-2008 03:04 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.