I need a Operation System and a PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2006, 09:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Default I need a Operation System and a PSU

Here are my parts so far:

Motherboard: Asus P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP ATX Intel Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...813131028#spec

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2.12GHz LGA 775 Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...819115004#spec

Video Card: XFX GeForce 7600GT PVT73GUGD3 Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150182

Corsair 1GB (2 x 512MB) DDR 433 (PC 3500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145029

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 80GB IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148095

DVD Drive: Samsung 18X DVD+ Burner, Lightscribe Technology Model SH-S1
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827151136

Case: Xion II Xon-103 Black SECC ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811208008


any suggestions on an Operating System and a PSU?
__________________

orcblood2712 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 09:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Vista is just around the corner, but I'd still go with XP. Give Vista six months to a year so Microsoft can actually get it finished.

As for a PSU, look at Antec, FSP, Seasonic... 500W+.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 10:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Another good PSU brand is OCZ. Um, why are you getting DDR ram. You need DDR2 ram.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

yeah when vista comes out i bet theres going to be alot of problems with it cause microsoft is having alot of trouble with there stuff. They need to make there consoles with a reset button too.
Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.