I need to know what power supply size i would need! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2009, 06:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: I need to know what power supply size i would need!

This would probably work ok.
Newegg.com - Diablotek PHD Series PHD380M 380W MicroATX Power Supply - Power Supplies

Though you might want to spend a bit more on a better brand - you can't really do better than PCP&C.
Newegg.com - PC Power & Cooling Silencer PPCS370X 370W ATX12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: I need to know what power supply size i would need!

thanks for the help.
i will use your post for other computers i am building, but this one is in a 1U lol so i need a 1U power supply.

but i see the ranges you specified from those two power supplies thanks for the help
BenOwns is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: I need to know what power supply size i would need!

Oops, didn't notice you were after a 1U rack size one. Generally good brands to look for are Corsair, PC Power & Cooling, OCZ, BFG and CoolerMaster.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: I need to know what power supply size i would need!

ok i have hit another problem. lol

everything in my 1U is Sata lol,
but i cannot find any power supply with Sata power connections on it for 1U

got any ideas?
BenOwns is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: I need to know what power supply size i would need!

FSP Group are also top notch PSUs.
Newegg.com - FSP Group FSP300-601U 20Pin 300W Single Server Power Supply - Server Power Supplies

The brands of server PSUs on NewEgg are not that great, surprisingly.

Grab a few of these:
Newegg.com - LOGISYS AD203 4Pin Molex to SATA Power Adaptor - Adapters & Gender Changers
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 06:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: I need to know what power supply size i would need!

thanks guys helped tons
BenOwns is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 07:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I need to know what power supply size i would need!

Yea the only good server ones on newegg are FSP, but if you use other sites you can look at

Super micro
Enlight
Enhance
Zippy
Etasis

And Im not sure whether corsair, PC power and cooling, silverstone or seasonic have server power supplies, but if they do those are also good.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 04:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: I need to know what power supply size i would need!

ok guys and gals, how much amps do you think that will use?
BenOwns is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I need to know what power supply size i would need!

Don't worry about amps, if the power supplies continious wattage output is enough then it will have enough amps.

Look for power supplies with a minimum of 400 watt continious. (or around 450 Peak)
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Power Supply Guide Ste Overclocking and Modding 0 02-18-2008 03:18 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.