I need help for MSI motherboard... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default I need help for MSI motherboard...

Hi,

Could anyone confirm that MSI K8NGM2-FID support Opteron 146?

Thanks a lot.
__________________

Noom is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 01:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

if its a socket 939 opteron it will be compatible
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

It said only support Athlon 64/FX/64X2
It might not support Opteron. I should go back to Athlon 64 3200+

So, What is Opteron single core's supported mainboard on market now?
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it probabbly will, although you may need to update its BIOS
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 03:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

I found one 939 mobo which officially supports Opteron 100 series.
http://www.foxconnchannel.com/tech_c...0K8MA/6100K8MA

the others?
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 03:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well all those athlons are s939 ... so i would think that opteron goes in..
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 04:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

or I must return MSI and buy a new one which support Opteron
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 04:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

uhh that opteron is a 939 pin... it should still work with that msi.. like they already said just update bios...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 11:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

IT WILL WORK do you understand what we are saying?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

does my mobo support opterons

Quote:
CPU Type Athlon 64 FX/Athlon 64/Sempron
no, but look i have an opteron in my system and its working :shocked: isnt that suprising
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 12:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

Sorry PZEROFGH I'm beginner.
I just want to make sure that my mobo can run Opteron 146 as well because I can't return for refund if I used it.

Your ship set is NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra while mine is
North Bridge NVIDIA GeForce 6150
South Bridge NVIDIA nForce 430
It's difference.
__________________

__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.