I need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2006, 01:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default I need help

I am trying to rebuild a computer that I had running in the past..
1.14 ghz amd. I built it several years ago but then bought a 2.8 ghz when I found one on sale because the cmos battery died..ya I changed the battery but I wanted faster...so..
I put that one in the closet for awhile..Now I want to get it back up and running just to play games on.
I had a 20 gig and a 40 gig in the apartment...
(my new computer which i'm typing on has an 80 gig and a 40 gig) which are both in use.

My problem is the bios on the 1.14 ghz computer sees the 40 gig hd but when it does the post checking it doesn't see it..so I tried the 20..but that tells me hard drive failure imminent please back up your drive etc..

how do I get the post to see the 40 gig drive ? or is it dead?
__________________

mistressotdark is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

I'll bet it needs a bios flash to get large disc access. Its probably old enough to have the large disc problem.
__________________

krazefinn is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default

hmmm I don't see why....
I had a 40 gig in it before...
but ok..remind me how I do that
mistressotdark is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Well, if the bios is late enough to acess large drives, thats clearly not the issue. Try another ide cable, different slot (to rule out controller) and jumper settings. Drive could also be bad, what does scandsk or drives native ute tell you?

Make sure it is connected and jumpered correctly, also could try to use it as the only drive to test. Discconect the others, inc opticals, and set it up as master. If its a WD there is an alternate jumper scheme for some.
krazefinn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.