I need a good graphics card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2007, 12:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

I recently built a beast of a build which cost £1500 but i tried dell and customise to the closest parts (whole system was a downgrade to the one i built) it came to £2400 so saved me quite alot to make it myself and i also got the knowledge and a more powerful parts.

Matt
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 01:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Poon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Default

How much is that in US dollars?
__________________

Poon is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 01:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

1,500.00 GBP = 2,961.90 USD (build)

2,400.00 GBP = 4,739.16 USD (buy)
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 01:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Poon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
1,500.00 GBP = 2,961.90 USD (build)

2,400.00 GBP = 4,739.16 USD (buy)
Wow that is a lot of cash. I had better start saving.

Sometimes I wish people still used a barter system. It would help me out a lot if I could give them SOME cash and then for the rest of the balance, pay with other stuff. Like I have some baseball cards from when I was a child and I could even throw in the pc I'm currently using.

But as Mr. Dylan himself said, times are a changin.
Poon is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 09:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

Well this is the most powerful pci card availible

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16814129062R

It will run games pretty decent, but it depends on the rest of your system.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 09:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19
Default

You would probably be able to get a system that runs those games with decent settings for 1200 canadian dollars I my self am buying a new computer and I found the best way to research is to start with all the parts and ask and look at reviews.


The new intel processers are amazing but expensive as it sounds like you dont have alot of money to spare i would go with a AMD Athlon AM2 processor as they are usually much cheaper but do not give you the same performance.
My friend just bought a pretty sweet setup
Here are the stats as far as I know:
Processor
AMD Athlon64 AM2 2.0 GHz
Ram two Gigs of Geil pc6400 800mhz 4-4-4-15
430 watt extreme coolermaster PSU
Aspire X-discovery case(lights
250g hard drive 7200RPM Sata2
Motherboard?
I would get one with at least one PCI-E as all good video cards play on PCI-E (they go twice as fast as aGP cards)
Nvidia 7600GT decent card but at the rate games are coming up I would spend an extra $30-$50 to get a 7900Gs

now the information iam giving you doesnt mean you rely on it i can alyways be wrong as i said reviews on the internet from reliable sites are helpful and reading forums aree definitly the way to go if you want to learn
Saint is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 11:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

The fact that CPU-Z doesn't show his Graphics Interface doesn't necesarily mean he doesn't any graphics slot - it could just be that CPU-Z lists only the interface in use, and he's on integrated graphics. I'd expect his motherboard to have at least an AGP slot.

Yes, the easiest way to know for sure is to look at the motherboard, but I guess Poon's experience is limited. Do you want to try it? We can explain you how AGP/PCIe slots look like (and show you some pics). That way you could learn a thing or two about motherboard components.

If, on the other hand, you want to keep it simple, you can download a slightly more complex utility with a more complete device listing. I'm sure the graphics slot will show up that way.

Up to you, Poon.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 12:57 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

you do not need to buy a whole new system just get a new motherboard with the features your looking for and then transfer all your eqiopment to the new mobo.
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 01:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Poon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
you do not need to buy a whole new system just get a new motherboard with the features your looking for and then transfer all your eqiopment to the new mobo.
I don't even know what a motherboard looks like though! I would have to call Geek Squad for sure.

Quote:
You would probably be able to get a system that runs those games with decent settings for 1200 canadian dollars I
Saint thank you so much for your information. How much US dollars is that? I still need to finish with my budget and see what I can spend.

Quote:
f, on the other hand, you want to keep it simple, you can download a slightly more complex utility with a more complete device listing.
Thanks Meithan, I think I should try this method. I am way too nervous to open my pc. My hands are sweating now just thinking about it.
Poon is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 09:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Alright. You can download PC Wizard here. Once it's installed, open it up and go to the Mainboard section (the second icon on the left panel, with a small computer case and an arrow). A list of feature should appear on the right, as shown on the following screenie:



What we're looking for is either "Bus PCI-Express" or a mention to "AGP" (Accelerated Graphics Port). If you're not too sure, you can screenshot the PC Wizard window and I'll go through it.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.