! I have dropped the 3.4 Ghz PRESCOTT Temp from 51 to 37 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2005, 04:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 17
Lightbulb ! I have dropped the 3.4 Ghz PRESCOTT Temp from 51 to 37

I am 16 years old and I built my first pc when I was 15. I have a intel pentium 4 3.4 Ghz prescott processor. Recently I replaced my stock cpu heatsink with the Zalman 7700 Cu. I experienced a dramatic temp decrease from 51c to 37c. My pc is in the hottest room in the house with no air conditioning.
__________________

cthanchan is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 17
Default Zalman 7700Cu

Zalman 7700 Cu

weight: 918 grams(2 Lbs)
material: pure copper
dimentions: 136mm diameter and 67mm high
fan:120mm 2,100 rpm
__________________

cthanchan is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Good stuff. Did you use AS5?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 01:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Thats exactly what'id expect from that heatsink. i wish one would fit in my case, cause I would buy one and then oc that mofo like a son*****.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 01:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

actually right now, ambient 37, cpu 42, not bad. I reapplied antec silver last nite with more than i thought was necessary, seems to be working...
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 09:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

don't expect an immediate drop in temp with AS5, it'll have to set a bit first. might take a couple of weeks to start seeing some real results.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.