I Don't know what graphic card to get - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2006, 08:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default I Don't know what graphic card to get

Hello there, I have a Compaq Presario SR1750NX Media Center Edition.

I have an Integrated ATI x200 64Mb I Believe.(I might be wrong, i don't know my computer much) and i was looking at graphics card to play all the latest games such as, Black &White 2, NFSMW etc. and my problem is usually neither of them work or i have to run them on low settings and it really bugs me.

I looked online (Newegg) for graphics cards and i found an ATI Radeon x1300 256MB but i really need help deciding what card to get. I Want a cheap one that lets me run all the latest games on atleast medium quality.

Please Help!!!!
Thanks A bunch.
__________________

T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 08:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

First off, downloads CPU-Z from www.cpuid.com and then look on the mainboard tab, what graphics port does it say? PCIE or AGP? If it is blank than you will have to get standard PCI cards.

Secondly, what is your budget?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 08:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 306
Default Re: I Don't know what graphic card to get

i would get a 6800 Gs like this one, I have one and it works great for runing the latest games at medium to high quality

Heres a Link
__________________







Office 2007 for Sale
StylinGolfShoes is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 08:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default

i have a PCI-E Port
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 08:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default

oh yea, and i am willing to pay up to $100.00
__________________
テツヤ
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 08:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by T88SupraStyle
i have a PCI-E Port


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122201

Will be able to play games from medium to high at a good res.

Or there is the 7600GS http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130029

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814141031

Which is abit more powerful than the 6600gt, but will be more efficient, which is better with a PSU that has a low watt output on the 12v.

Also, your sig is too big.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 08:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default

thanks trifid, i think im going to go with the eVGA 7600GS
__________________
テツヤ
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 08:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Good choice. Just before you buy it, have a look at your PSU, check that it has 400w total output and a 18amps on the 12v rail. (Doesn't matter if it is slightly (or quite a bit for watts) below if you don't have loads of hdds etc.)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 08:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default

I Believe it says,

300Watts

19Amps

So i wont be able to run it with that?
__________________
テツヤ
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp You should be fine, but do it for your exact PC and add about 30watts.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.