i dont know - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2006, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default i dont know

ok i havent the slightest i know i need to upgrade from a sempron (1.8) its really slowing up my gaming. i have two similiar choices but dont know enough to decide which one i should spend the cash on amd 64 newcastle or the venice??????????????????????????? they seem very alike but i am sure someone outthere knows what the differences are between the two.
__________________

an51r is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 01:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 135
Default Re: i dont know

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara

Newcastle
Newcastle is one of the older AMD Athlon 64 cores, being brought to the socket 939 family from socket 754. Newcastle chips are based on the 130nm process, and have the largest power consumption and heat dump overall next to the Clawhammer core. They've got the normal Athlon 64 cache size of 512KB.

Newcastle is availible in chips such as the 3000+, 3200+, 3500+, and 3800+. It's a dated core and as far as overclockability goes, don't expect much more than 400MHz on air. I really would stay away from this core as I don't think there's any difference in price between it and the more power conservative 90nm cores.

Venice
The Venice is notorious for it's ridiculous power and voltage conservation, reaching clock speeds as high as 3GHz with little overall vcore increase. The Venice uses an improved intergrated memory controller which can account for all 4 DIMM slots running at 400MHz. Previous memory controllers would underclock the RAM to 333MHz if all four slots were in use.

The Venice specifically fixes the silicon problem found in the Winchester and can handle higher clock speeds. It's also the first AMD core to add SSE3 instruction sets, the third iteration of the SSE instruction set for the IA-32 architecture. It is a SIMD instruction set. If you are purchasing a midrange processor, get a Venice based chip.

Note: Some Motherboards require an updated BIOS in order to use 90nm cores.
found that in a sticky in the Overclocking section. hope it helps
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 Ghz
ABS Tagan BZ 800W
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
eVGA 9800 GX2
G.SKILL 2x2Gb DDR2 1000
150GB RAPTOR 10k RPM
SUNBEAM AC-9B-HUVB
snick is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Venice is a newer, cooler core using the 90nm process sizes. It's giong to overclock better.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 01:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

if budget is your concern go get the newcatsle.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 11:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

thank you for the advice i am new to this and on somewhat of a budget so the venice it is the price difference is 3 dollars so there is no competition thanks to the great new egg again thank you all hopefully soon enough i myself should be rather proficient with the world of pcs the next test is building my own
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 03:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

games are usually slowed down by slow video cards
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 03:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 300
Default

Wait, What about the manchester core?
__________________
Sig reinstated SigSanta
Kazama is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 03:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

that's an X2 with 512kb L2 cache per core, but it's socket 939, so he'd also have to get a new motherbord (1.8GHZ Sempron's are in socket 754). and it's probabbly out of his money range also.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.