I broke my PC... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2006, 02:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Unhappy I broke my PC...

Well king of...

On the PCIE slot, there is a clip which you twiddle with to release the graphics card, well here it is now:



Oops.

Anyway, now my graphics card is held in place by the PCI screw. :/

In the process of doing that though, I am going to have to RMA my second ATI card (out of 2) becuase they never work! (This time the PC would not restart - works great with my card in.)

/rant.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Wait, where is the PCI screw? Take a picture please.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 02:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

maybe he means the screw that screw the card to the case (the slots on the back of the computer...)
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 02:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Ohh, okay, I thought you meant you stuck a screw in on the motherboard where that little clip thing is that holds the video card down. I was about to LMAO at you for screwing a screw into your video card and wondering why it was broken.
The General is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 02:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: I broke my PC...

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Well king of...

On the PCIE slot, there is a clip which you twiddle with to release the graphics card, well here it is now:

[image here]

Oops.

Anyway, now my graphics card is held in place by the PCI screw. :/

In the process of doing that though, I am going to have to RMA my second ATI card (out of 2) becuase they never work! (This time the PC would not restart - works great with my card in.)

/rant.
wait, so the PC works, but just doesn't restart?
that's most likely a motherboard problem.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 02:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Ohh, okay, I thought you meant you stuck a screw in on the motherboard where that little clip thing is that holds the video card down. I was about to LMAO at you for screwing a screw into your video card and wondering why it was broken.
Lol, no not quite.

The PC has never done a restart. Updated BIOS, no. Tried RAM, no. New PSU did help as it sometimes didn't boot on first try. Graphics card made it perfect. Did loads of restarts (uninstalled drivers.) Everything works. Also it does a beeeeep beep beep during restart before it stops.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.