I bit the bullet on a GPU - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2014, 07:55 PM   #21 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: I bit the bullet on a GPU

Yea basically you should be running the same setup as me since we have identical cards. Also helps to be running the beta drivers greatly.

Can't wait for a patch. I have stopped playing it to wait for a patch as I have put maybe 50 hours or so in it and haven't even played the campaign.

My setup consists of 1080p, Ultra textures, Ultra everything besides shadows unless I OC my VRAM 400MHz, and 2xMSAA.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 08:06 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: I bit the bullet on a GPU

Yup same setup I downloaded the beta driver before I downloaded the gams, only have DSL so I hit download and went to bed lol. With working on the new house and working I haven't played much at all but got a little ways into it and got to the mission to hack into someone else's game but it couldn't find a player to hack into in the wee hours of the morning I played but it had someone hack into mine lol he made the mistake of trying to run in a car lol, I LOVE racing so stole a car and played bumper cars until his car was wrecked then he tried to run so I ran him down and and his body went flying over the railing into the water and got the credits for taking him out lol
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 08:18 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: I bit the bullet on a GPU

Nice. I have no net, so hold the fort for me right now. Hoping to get my install next week. *crosses fingers*
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 10:43 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Reapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 261
Default Re: I bit the bullet on a GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
MSI is solid. I have had a few of them, using one now.
I love MSI hardware. I only buy MSI MB's and GPU's
__________________
CPU: Intel i5 3570k
CPU cooling: Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
MOBO:MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
RAM:G.Skill RipJaws X Series 8GB(two 4GB)
GPU: MSI Gaming OC GeForce GTX 760 2GB
SSD/HDD:SamSung SSD 120 GB, Seagate 1TB HDD
PSU:Rosewill CAPSTONE-550-M 550W
Case:Corsair Graphite Series 600T Arctic White Steel
Reapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 11:56 AM   #25 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: I bit the bullet on a GPU

I actually managed to remove the stutter completely by just running borderless windowed mode. Still have textures on Ultra 4xtxaa and shadows on Ultra also. Txaa is actually less demanding than most types of AA
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 01:01 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: I bit the bullet on a GPU

That's odd I had mine at border less window mode and it ran like it was getting 10fps lol. as soon as I went full screen it went back to smooth game play.
__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:58 PM   #27 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: I bit the bullet on a GPU

I don't know if it makes a difference but I have the steam version of watchdogs.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 05:42 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default I bit the bullet on a GPU

I have the uplay version that's unplayable cuz it keeps crashing. So I'm using a not so legit version but like I said I do have a legit copy. So far works good it does have its glitches but hey all new games usually do. The 144hz screen I just got made a huge difference all stutters went away.
__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 11:38 PM   #29 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: I bit the bullet on a GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poizen22 View Post
I actually managed to remove the stutter completely by just running borderless windowed mode. Still have textures on Ultra 4xtxaa and shadows on Ultra also. Txaa is actually less demanding than most types of AA
TXAA is less demanding because it uses a combination of low end MSAA and post process AA which causes a stupid blurring. It's why I don't use it because on my setup even I can use 4xTXAA but I prefer the clarity of 2xMSAA.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My attempt at bullet time. zedman3d Web Graphics and Design 7 09-08-2009 09:33 AM
3D Bullet Collision. zedman3d Web Graphics and Design 10 10-06-2008 07:37 AM
CS:Source Bullet Holes Grumpy PC Gaming 1 05-02-2007 06:21 PM
Bullet Proof XP from Malware and Changes ZOverLord Microsoft Windows and Software 12 02-14-2006 03:44 PM
3lite Bullet.... Apokalipse Off Topic Discussion 0 08-31-2005 07:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.