I am having trouble cloning my laptop HD to a SSD. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2014, 11:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Default I am having trouble cloning my laptop HD to a SSD.

I have done it 3-4x before, but on a different laptop (using same SSD, software, and same dock).

Now I am on a Dell laptop with Windows 8 (previously win 7).

Previously I would open the software, go through all the steps, put the SSD in, and bingo, it was all good.

But now, it seems to copy ok (as I can open the SSD while connected and all the files etc are on there), but when I put it in my laptop, it gives an error message.

Something like "fail, no bootable disk".

I have tried using Acronis, Paragon, and Miray.

Is there anything in bios I need to check/change? It is set to AHCI now.

Should I just put the SSD in and load from the OS discs? Will that even work?

The laptop does pick it up (both before and after I have cloned it), so that is not the problem.

I can format it, or view files in it etc.
__________________

Great White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: I am having trouble cloning my laptop HD to a SSD.

Did you clone over the boot partition as well? If not, then you're going to have to repair the bootloader on the SSD.

Unplug the other HDD and only have the SSD plugged in. Boot off of your Windows disc and choose "Repair my computer". Select the Command Prompt option.

How To Fix The Windows Bootloader Ľ TweakHound
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 11:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Default Re: I am having trouble cloning my laptop HD to a SSD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Did you clone over the boot partition as well? If not, then you're going to have to repair the bootloader on the SSD.

Unplug the other HDD and only have the SSD plugged in. Boot off of your Windows disc and choose "Repair my computer". Select the Command Prompt option.

How To Fix The Windows Bootloader Ľ TweakHound
I formatted the SSD and then cloned to it.

Thanks for the other info. Prob the best bet.
Great White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 01:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Default Re: I am having trouble cloning my laptop HD to a SSD.

Its all good now.
I just needed to check a box while cloning.

Thanks.
Great White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 09:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: I am having trouble cloning my laptop HD to a SSD.

Glad you got it sorted.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning Wildside System Upgrades 26 02-22-2014 07:47 PM
Problem cloning SSD Caliburn System Upgrades 11 01-09-2014 01:59 AM
BSOD after cloning partition from bad drive to SSD jrobot Microsoft Windows and Software 1 01-05-2011 02:01 PM
Having Cloning issues sara jane Laptops and Notebooks 2 06-26-2010 11:33 AM
Any one else having trouble having getting work? Burn Folding @ Home 5 06-14-2010 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.