HyperMemory and Turbocache Explained - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2008, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default HyperMemory and Turbocache Explained

Since this is the General PC Area, I thought it goes here because most people considering these cards usually have these cards in their budget...


Explanation
Hypermemory (ATi) and Turbocache (nVidia) take physical RAM (usually up to 128mb or 256mb) and add it to your Video Card for Video RAM, this is usually done to cut down costs of the video card.

Disabling it
Unfortunately the only way to disable it is cut the RAM allocation from the Physical RAM to be 0mb, causing less RAM, or the other way is to just not buy a Hypermemory/Turbocache Card by paying a little bit more money.

Cards with Hypermemory:
Usually most cards with the HM or LE suffix have it:

o Radeon™ X1650 64MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X1650 128MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X1650 256MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X1650 512MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X1600 64MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X1600 128MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X1600 256MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X1600 512MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X1300 64MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X1300 128MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X1300 256MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X1300 512MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X300 SE 128MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X300 SE 256MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X550 256MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X600 SE 256MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X600 512MB HyperMemory™
o Radeon™ X700 SE 512MB HyperMemory™

Cards with Turbocache:
Usually most cards with the TC or LE suffix have it:

o GeForce 6200 TC
o GeForce 6200 SE
o GeForce 7100GS TC
o GeForce 7200GS TC
o GeForce 7300LE
o GeForce 7300GS TC
o GeForce 7500LE
o GeForce 8400GS TC
o GeForce 8500GT TC
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 02:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: HyperMemory and Turbocache Explained

Sorry about the double post.. but does nobody have suggestions for it before I ask Ste to consider it for a sticky?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 09:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: HyperMemory and Turbocache Explained

looks pretty good vern...i tried to get a post turned into a sticky but trotter didn't bite sadly.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 02:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: HyperMemory and Turbocache Explained

Could this at least get put into the "Hardware Stickies Index" thread?
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 02:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: HyperMemory and Turbocache Explained

Thats what we refer to stickies now
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.