HP video upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2011, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Default HP video upgrade

Hello, I've taken a old HP Pavilion a1013w under my wing and have repaired it to good conditions. I'm wanting to play a game called Minecraft on it. It meets all but one one requirments-the video card. I know for fact that a GeForce 8400 GS will work for minecraft, but its if-y if it'll work on the computer. I've consulted several computer experts that have said yes and no. The ones that said no say to get a GeForce 6400, but I don't think it'll work for minecraft. Could you please help. Thanks to anyone with advice!
__________________

eblanton35 is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: HP video upgrade

I play Minecraft myself. You'll be fine with a 8400. Why did they suggest the 6400, when it is way older and slower?

What are the rest of your specs?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 05:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: HP video upgrade

You can easily get an 8400gs pci card. Problem is, as it did have a agp card slot, it might not have a power supply big enough to run the pci card..

You'll have to read bthe numbers off the power supply, and its both Watts and Amps that we need.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 12:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: HP video upgrade

If you got this site HP Pavilion a1000 Desktop PC series*-* HP Pavilion a1013w Desktop PC - Product Specifications - c00306947 - HP Business Support Center
it'll give you other tech specs; for instance, this computers mother board is a PTGD-LA. The others suggest a 6400 because they knew for fact it'll work for this computer.
eblanton35 is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 12:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: HP video upgrade

It will not work well with the game. That is the point here.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 04:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: HP video upgrade

I understood that, i'm not that intirely lost. The big question im asking here is '' Will a HP Pavilion a1013w properly operatate with a GeForce 8400 GS?'' That is what I truly ask.
eblanton35 is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 06:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: HP video upgrade

As 'i stated you need to check your power supply. It may not be powerful enough.

Open up the case and read it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 07:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: HP video upgrade

Hmmm. . . oi. I don't know how to state this. . . but there are spare power plugs, I just dont know there names. . . AH! I beilive 1 molax and. . . 2-3 bergs? not sure. im refering to the page for names. HP Surestore T4 Tape Drive*-* QIC Tape - Description of Computer Power Connectors - lpg16012 - HP Business Support Center
Does this help?
eblanton35 is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 07:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: HP video upgrade

We need the Wattage of it, printed on a label directly on the PSU unit. You can see it when you open the case.
It will look like "450W"
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 09:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: HP video upgrade

Oooooh. . . lets see here. assuming PSU is Power Snding Unit Thingy. it says somthing about 165W MAX. and somthing about 218W MAX. . . Here is the ''PSU'' name a Bestec ATX-250-12Z . hows that? Heres a picture of the label:
__________________

eblanton35 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade for ATI 700 pro Video card lafguy81 System Upgrades 6 05-16-2010 02:59 AM
upgrade video card mtndew9 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 07-05-2008 12:17 AM
Video Upgrade was a Dud :( KDogg82 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-25-2006 05:50 PM
video card upgrade David_396 System Upgrades 2 03-19-2006 11:07 PM
Video Card Upgrade?? rockinfigs System Upgrades 5 02-22-2006 12:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.